H.R. No. 1113

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Honorable Mitchell Davenport retired as Jack 2 County judge on December 31, 2018, concluding a distinguished 3 tenure that spanned 28 years; and

WHEREAS, The longest-serving judge in the county's history, Judge Davenport won his first election by a mere 25 votes; he went on to increase that margin considerably against a variety of opponents, becoming a prominent figure in local politics; and

WHEREAS, Judge Davenport dedicated himself to keeping up with 8 9 rapidly changing case law, and he regarded the acquisition of new information as a daily responsibility; in his efforts to meet the 10 11 needs of his constituents, he listened carefully to input from 12 prosecutors, county commissioners, and citizens alike, and in so doing, he fostered a collegial, collaborative process that promoted 13 14 positive outcomes and broader consensus; moreover, he served as a staunch advocate for the library, the senior center, and other 15 16 public facilities; and

WHEREAS, A graduate of Texas Tech University School of Law, Judge Davenport was admitted to practice in 1974; he is the scion of a family with deep roots in the Lone Star State and a long tradition of public service; and

21 WHEREAS, Over the course of nearly three decades, Mitchell 22 Davenport greatly benefited his fellow citizens through his 23 thoughtful leadership and his unwavering commitment to excellence, 24 and he may indeed reflect with pride on a career well spent; now,

1

H.R. No. 1113

1 therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate the Honorable Mitchell Davenport 4 on his retirement as Jack County judge and extend to him sincere 5 best wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Judge Davenport as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Springer

H.R. No. 1113

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1113 was adopted by the House on April 12, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House