By: Murr

H.R. No. 1136

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, W. R. Hierholzer has announced plans to retire as 2 sheriff of Kerr County at the end of his term in 2020, drawing to a 3 close an outstanding tenure that has spanned two decades; and

WHEREAS, A valued resident of Kerr County since 1975, "Rusty" Hierholzer worked as a criminal investigator with the 198th District Attorney's Office before joining the Kerr County Sheriff's Department, where he served as a patrol deputy, jail administrator, instructor, and chief criminal investigator; he became the county's sheriff in April 2000 and went on to win reelection to that office four times; and

WHEREAS, In the course of his career, Sheriff Hierholzer 11 12 completed management and professional training in a wide range of including drug enforcement, 13 areas, civil process, and 14 constitutional criminal procedures, and he earned master peace officer and jailer certificates as well as an instructor's license; 15 16 a graduate of the FBI National Academy, he has also served as a 17 court expert in fingerprint comparison, bloodstain pattern analysis, and crime scene reconstruction; and 18

WHEREAS, Sheriff Hierholzer has received numerous honors over the years, including an Officer of the Year Award from the sheriff's department and a Governor's Award for Crime Victims Assistance; and

23 WHEREAS, Rusty Hierholzer's commitment to the highest 24 standards of his profession has greatly benefited the residents of

1

1 Kerr County, and he may indeed reflect with pride on the invaluable 2 contributions he has made during his four decades in law 3 enforcement; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1136

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate W. R. "Rusty" Hierholzer on his
retirement as Kerr County sheriff and commend him for his many years
of dedicated service to his fellow citizens; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Sheriff Hierholzer as an expression of high regard by 10 the Texas House of Representatives.

2