H.R. No. 1148

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Many proud residents of Nueces County are visiting 2 Austin on April 8, 2019, in celebration of Nueces County Day at the 3 State Capitol; and WHEREAS, Located on the Gulf of Mexico in the Coastal 4 5 Prairies region, the county has been the site of human habitation for as long as 8,000 years, and during historic times, the Coastal

Apaches, and Tonkawas; the first European visitors were likely led 8

Bend area was occupied by the Coahuiltecans, Karankawas, Lipan

9 by Alonzo Álvarez de Pineda, who reportedly reached Corpus Christi

Bay on the feast of Corpus Christi in 1519; well over two centuries 10

11 later, early settlers came from Spain, Mexico, Ireland, and

12 Germany, but even after the formation of Nueces County and the

incorporation of Corpus Christi in 1846, the permanent population 13

14 remained small; ranching was the mainstay of the local economy in

15

6

7

late antebellum Texas; and WHEREAS, Corpus Christi became an important center for 16 commerce during the early Civil War years, and the 1870s were boom 17 years for the cattle industry; in the late 19th and early 20th 18 centuries, the population began to grow significantly, centered in 19 20 and around Corpus Christi; fertile soil and a favorable growing 21 climate allowed cash-crop agriculture to flourish, and by 1930, Nueces County was a leader in cotton production; oil and natural gas 22 23 further strengthened the economy, and in 1941, the U.S. Navy established an air station at Corpus Christi; by the end of the 24

H.R. No. 1148

- 1 century, the diverse industrial base included tourism,
- 2 agribusiness, construction, oil and gas field services, meat
- 3 packing, soft-drink packaging, zinc refining, dairy production,
- 4 and ship building and repairing; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Today, the county population is approaching
- 6 400,000, with the majority residing in Corpus Christi, Robstown,
- 7 and Port Aransas; visitors from across the state and beyond flock to
- 8 such attractions as the Padre Island National Seashore, Mustang
- 9 Island State Park, and the Texas State Aquarium; agriculture and
- 10 deepwater port activity continue to contribute significantly to the
- 11 economy, while mineral production encompasses sand and gravel, as
- 12 well as oil and gas; and
- WHEREAS, Even as they celebrate their rich heritage, the
- 14 hardworking citizens of Nueces County are looking ahead to the
- 15 opportunities of the future and continuing to contribute to the
- 16 growth and prosperity of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby recognize April 8, 2019, as Nueces County Day at
- 19 the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation best wishes
- 20 for a memorable and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Herrero Hunter

H.R. No. 1148

Bonnen of Brazoria	Guerra	Noble			
Allen	Guillen	Oliverson			
Allison	Gutierrez				
		Ortega			
Anchia	Harless	Pacheco			
Anderson	Harris	Paddie			
Ashby	Hefner	Parker			
Bailes	Hernandez	Patterson			
Beckley	Herrero	Paul			
Bell of Kaufman	Hinojosa	Perez			
Bell of Montgomery	Holland	Phelan			
Bernal	Howard	Price			
Biedermann	Huberty	Ramos			
Blanco	Hunter	Raney			
Bohac	Israel	Raymond			
Bonnen of Galveston	E. Johnson of Dallas	Reynolds			
Bowers	J. Johnson of Dallas	Rodriguez			
Buckley	Johnson of Harris	Romero, Jr.			
Bucy	Kacal	Rose			
Burns	King of Hemphill	Rosenthal			
Burrows	King of Hemphill King of Parker	Sanford			
	King of Earker King of Uvalde	Schaefer			
Button	Klick				
Cain		Shaheen			
Calanni	Krause	Sheffield			
Canales	Kuempel	Sherman, Sr.			
Capriglione	Lambert	Shine			
Clardy	Landgraf	Smith			
Cole	Lang	Smithee			
Coleman	Larson	Springer			
Collier	Leach	Stephenson			
Cortez	Leman	Stickland			
Craddick	Longoria	Stucky			
Cyrier	Lopez	Swanson			
Darby	Lozano	Talarico			
Davis of Dallas	Lucio III	Thierry			
Davis of Harris	Martinez	Thompson of Brazoria			
Dean	Martinez Fischer	Thompson of Harris			
Deshotel	Metcalf	Tinderholt			
Dominguez	Meyer	Toth			
Dutton	Meza	Turner of Dallas			
Farrar	Middleton	Turner of Tarrant			
Fierro	Miller	VanDeaver			
Flynn	Minjarez	Vo			
Frank	Moody	Walle			
Frullo	Morales	White			
Geren	Morrison	Wilson			
Gervin-Hawkins	Muñoz, Jr.	Wray			
Goldman	Murphy	Wu			
Gordinan González of Dallas	Murr	wu Zedler			
Gonzalez of Dailas González of El Paso	Murr Neave				
Goodwin	Nevárez	Zerwas			
GOOGWIII	NEVALEZ	Zwiener			

									H.R.	No.	1148
							Spe	aker o	of the H	ouse	
	I	certify	that H	.R. No.	1148	was	adopted	by th	e House	on	April
8,	2019,	by a non	-recor	d vote.							

Chief Clerk of the House