## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Dallas County lost an admired civic leader with the
passing of the Honorable Charles Ronald Rose Sr. of Dallas on April
4, 2019, at the age of 73; and

WHEREAS, The son of Homer Rose Sr. and Dorothy Evelyn 4 Hollingsworth Rose, Charles Rose was born in Dallas on January 17, 5 1946, and grew up with five brothers, Homer, Horace, Roger, Odell, 6 7 and Fred, and two sisters, Marie and Joann; his first marriage brought him three treasured children, Ronnie, Toni, and Nikki, and 8 in 1982, he wed the former Gazelle Pichon and gained two more 9 daughters, Lachon and Nina; through the years, he was blessed with 10 eight grandchildren, Darius, Quentin, Jasmine, Jeffrey, Jade, 11 Lauren, Alexia, and Trenton, and four great-grandchildren, 12 Cammaron, Channing, Caelyn, and Nia; and 13

14 WHEREAS, Mr. Rose earned a bachelor's degree in business education and political science from Bishop College and a master's 15 16 degree in urban and regional affairs from The University of Texas at Arlington; after beginning his career with General Motors, he 17 joined Local Union No. 816 of the United Automobile, Aerospace and 18 Agricultural Implement Workers of America, and as a member of the 19 20 executive board, he advocated for workers' rights; his drive to 21 serve prompted him to take a leave of absence to seek public office; he was elected to the Wilmer-Hutchins Independent School District 22 23 Board, and he served four consecutive terms as Dallas County justice of the peace for Precinct 8, Place 1, before returning to 24

1

General Motors for two years; following his retirement, he launched a consulting and auditing agency, C. R. Rose and Associates, and served as its executive director; he returned to the political arena in 2012 to support the successful campaign of his daughter Toni Rose to represent District 110 in the Texas House; and

WHEREAS, Committed to improving the lives of others, Judge 6 7 Rose was a trusted voice in the community and a resourceful civil 8 rights strategist; he volunteered as an adjunct professor at Paul Quinn College and gave generously of his time and expertise to a 9 10 host of civic and charitable organizations; a cofounder of the Friday Network Group and the Dallas Committee on Urban Affairs, he 11 12 served as chair of the Southeast Oak Cliff Community Leadership Association and the Moorland Family YMCA Fund-Raising Campaign, as 13 14 district chair of the Boy Scouts of America-Mustang District, and 15 as a board member of the Dallas Black Chamber of Commerce and the South Dallas Collaborative Effort Governance Committee; moreover, 16 17 he was an active member of Holy Cross Catholic Church and the Knights of Columbus; and 18

WHEREAS, Judge Rose received myriad accolades for his contributions, including the 2018 Trailblazer Award from the Alpha Sigma Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity and the 2018 Jubilee Productions Award of Service; in 2013, he was recognized with the Outstanding Texan Award for District 110 from the Texas Legislative Black Caucus; and

25 WHEREAS, Deeply devoted to his family and his community, 26 Charles Rose made a meaningful difference in the lives of his loved 27 ones and fellow citizens alike, and his contributions will be

2

1 fondly remembered for years to come; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 3 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Judge Charles 4 Ronald Rose Sr. and extend sincere condolences to his family and 5 friends; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 8 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Charles 9 Rose.

Davis of Dallas

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez

Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

## H.R. No. 1176

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1176 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 10, 2019.

Chief Clerk of the House