H.R. No. 1177

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Residents of Chester are gathering on April 12, 2 2019, for a ceremony commemorating the renaming of the baseball 3 field at Chester High School in honor of the late Alexander Neal 4 Johnson; and

5 WHEREAS, Alex Johnson attended Chester ISD throughout his 6 childhood and graduated with honors in 2009; a well-liked classmate 7 and a talented athlete, he especially loved baseball, and his 8 irrepressible determination and can-do spirit made him a joy to 9 coach; he was a young man who always looked to the future with 10 optimism and who made every effort to uplift those around him; and

11 WHEREAS, After graduating, Mr. Johnson gave back to his 12 community through his service as a member of the Chester Volunteer Fire Department and as a volunteer coach for Little League teams; he 13 14 enjoyed playing ragball for charitable events, and he cherished the longtime friendships he made through the sport; he was also known 15 for his deep compassion for children, and he donated every month to 16 the St. Jude organization in honor of his "healthy nephews"; his 17 tragic passing in May 2013, at the age of 21, was a profound loss to 18 all who knew and loved him; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Although his life ended far too soon, Alex Johnson 21 made a lasting impact in his community, and the naming of a baseball 22 field in his honor is a fitting memorial to this exceptional young 23 man and to the legacy he left behind; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas

1

Legislature hereby commemorate the rededication of the baseball
field at Chester High School in honor of Alexander Neal Johnson and
pay tribute to the memory of Alex Johnson; and, be it further

4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 5 prepared for Mr. Johnson's family as an expression of high regard 6 by the Texas House of Representatives.

White

H.R. No. 1177

H.R. No. 1177

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1177 was adopted by the House on April 18, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House