H.R. No. 1185

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas National Guard is celebrating the 10th 2 anniversary of its partnership with the armed forces of the 3 Republic of Chile in April 2019; and

WHEREAS, A joint initiative of the U.S. Department of Defense and the National Guard Bureau, the State Partnership Program was established in 1993 after the end of the Cold War, and it links the national guards of individual states with the militaries of countries around the world; since April 2009, the Texas National Guard has been working with the Chilean armed forces; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of their partnership, the TXNG and 10 11 Chile have conducted dozens of exchanges, participating in such 12 exercises as airborne operations, C-130 and F-16 maintenance and flight maneuvers, special forces exchanges, and homeland security 13 14 response preparedness; in addition, members of the TXNG have traveled to Tierra del Fuego, Chile, to learn the techniques for 15 building roads in remote areas from the Chilean Army, and they have 16 collaborated with the Chilean Air Force in a medical evacuation 17 exercise and competed alongside Chilean soldiers and airmen at the 18 Best Warrior Competition at Camp Swift near Bastrop; and 19

20 WHEREAS, In this anniversary year, the adjutant general of 21 Texas, Major General Tracy R. Norris, is meeting with a delegation 22 of Chilean officials to sign an Agreement of Activity for the coming 23 year; these eminent Chileans include Jose Luis Briseno, the consul 24 general of Chile, Lieutenant General Albert Widmer, deputy chief of

1

H.R. No. 1185

1 the joint staff of the Chilean armed forces, Rear Admiral Leonardo 2 Quijarro, deputy chief of staff for the Chilean Navy, and Major 3 General Carlos Castillo, Chilean military attaché to the United 4 States and chief of the Chilean military mission in the United 5 States; and

6 WHEREAS, Over the past decade, the Texas National Guard and 7 the Chilean military have built a strong relationship based on 8 shared values and mutual respect, and this significant milestone in 9 their partnership is truly deserving of special recognition; now, 10 therefore, be it

11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 12 Legislature hereby commemorate the 10th anniversary of the 13 partnership between the Texas National Guard and the Republic of 14 Chile and extend a warm welcome to the visiting delegation; and, be 15 it further

16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 17 prepared for the visiting delegation as an expression of high 18 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

> Tinderholt Flynn

2

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez

Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 1185

H.R. No. 1185

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1185 was adopted by the House on April 12, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House