H.R. No. 1207

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Milano High School boys' track team achieved
great distinction by claiming the 2018 Class 2A championship at the
University Interscholastic League Track & Field State Meet; and

WHEREAS, Joining the top high school competitors in Texas at 4 5 Mike A. Myers Stadium in Austin on May 11 and 12, the Milano Eagles were paced by their relay squads; the foursome of Ronnie Messer, 6 7 Timothy Demeritt, Kyle King, and Devonte Jones captured a gold medal with a time of 42.45 seconds in the 4x100-meter event, and the 8 quartet of Mr. Demeritt, Devonte Jones, Kaleb Dodd, and Parker 9 Jones clocked in at 3 minutes, 23.73 seconds, to take the crown in 10 11 the 4x400-meter contest; and

WHEREAS, In individual competition, Mr. Demeritt won gold in the 400 meters with his time of 48.26 seconds, and Parker Jones won the 1,600-meters with his time of 4 minutes, 35.75 seconds; furthermore, Devonte Jones augmented his collection of medals by winning silver in the 300-meter hurdles and bronze in the long jump; and

WHEREAS, When the final totals were compiled, the Eagles finished with 74 points to capture the school's first team state title in any sport; the victory marked another notable milestone for head coach David Westbrook, who has helped more than 50 athletes to qualify for the state meet over the course of his three decades in guiding the Milano track team; the 2018 squad also benefited from the support provided by athletic director Wendy King; and

1

H.R. No. 1207

1 WHEREAS, These talented young Texans distinguished 2 themselves through their skill, hard work, and enduring commitment 3 to excellence, and they may indeed reflect with pride on their 4 extraordinary accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 6 Legislature hereby congratulate the Milano High School boys' track 7 team on winning the 2018 UIL 2A track & field state championship and 8 extend to all those associated with the team sincere best wishes for 9 continued success; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for the Milano Eagles as an expression of high regard by 12 the Texas House of Representatives.

Wilson

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez

Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 1207

H.R. No. 1207

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1207 was adopted by the House on April 18, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House