By: Lambert

H.R. No. 1219

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Taylor Electric Cooperative is celebrating its 80th 2 anniversary in 2019, and this occasion offers a welcome opportunity 3 to recognize the organization's outstanding record of service to 4 the Abilene area; and

WHEREAS, In 1936, President Franklin Roosevelt signed into 5 law the Rural Electrification Act to help extend power to rural 6 7 America at a time when nearly 90 percent of the nation's farms and ranches did not have electricity; aided by funds provided through 8 9 the REA, a group of community leaders in Merkel joined together in 1939 to form the Taylor Electric Cooperative; the group began 10 enrolling members for a fee of five dollars, and on January 30, 11 1941, the cooperative switched on its first power lines, ushering 12 in a new era for local citizens; and 13

WHEREAS, Today, Taylor EC serves residents in Taylor, 14 Callahan, Eastland, Jones, Shackelford, Coke, Fisher, and Nolan 15 16 Counties, and it benefits from the able leadership of an elected 17 board of directors; since its inception, the utility company has remained committed to a business model centered on member ownership 18 and participation; it has also worked hard to meet the evolving 19 needs of its customers, and to that end, it began offering Access 20 high-speed internet service in 2016; and 21

22 WHEREAS, Taylor Electric Cooperative has enhanced the 23 quality of life of generations of Texans by providing an affordable 24 and reliable source of electrical power for area homes and

1

H.R. No. 1219

1 businesses, and it is a pleasure to join in honoring the cooperative 2 as it marks this milestone year in its history; now, therefore, be 3 it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate Taylor Electric Cooperative on its
80th anniversary and extend to all those affiliated with the
company sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the cooperative as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives.

2