By: VanDeaver H.R. No. 1247

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Sonja Yates Hubbard was recognized with the Idalee
- 2 Hawkins Leader of the Year award by Leadership Texarkana at the
- 3 organization's 10th annual Lunch With Leaders ceremony on April 9,
- 4 2019; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Each year, this prestigious accolade is bestowed on
- 6 an individual who has lived up to the high standard of civic
- 7 engagement and public spirit set by the award's namesake,
- 8 Leadership Texarkana alumna Idalee Hawkins; and
- 9 WHEREAS, A fitting recipient, Ms. Hubbard is currently the
- 10 CEO of the Yates Group and the president of the board of AR-TX
- 11 Regional Economic Development, Inc.; she previously served as CEO
- 12 of E-Z Mart Stores, and she has also held leadership roles with
- 13 CHRISTUS St. Michael Hospital, the Arkansas Children's Foundation,
- 14 the Texas A&M University-Texarkana Foundation, and Opportunities,
- 15 Inc.; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Sonja Hubbard has contributed to her fellow citizens
- 17 through a lifetime of purposeful endeavor, and she is indeed
- 18 deserving of this most recent honor; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby congratulate Sonja Yates Hubbard on being named
- 21 the 2019 Idalee Hawkins Leader of the Year by Leadership Texarkana
- 22 and extend to her sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it
- 23 further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

H.R. No. 1247

- 1 prepared for Ms. Hubbard as an expression of high regard by the
- 2 Texas House of Representatives.