H.R. No. 1261

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Each year on April 21, people throughout the Lone
- 2 Star State commemorate San Jacinto Day in honor of the decisive
- 3 battlefield victory that brought about the independence of the
- 4 Republic of Texas; and
- 5 WHEREAS, On that date in the year 1836, the Texan forces led
- 6 by General Sam Houston faced a crucial moment in their
- 7 revolutionary struggle against the rule of Mexican dictator Antonio
- 8 Lopez de Santa Anna; over the course of the previous six weeks,
- 9 Texan forces had been defeated at both the Alamo and Goliad, and
- 10 General Houston's army had retreated steadily to the east;
- 11 meanwhile, the Mexican troops commanded by General Santa Anna were
- 12 determined to follow up their earlier victories by seizing the
- 13 seaports along the Texas coast; by mid-April, the two armies were
- 14 within a few miles of one another in the bayou country near the San
- 15 Jacinto River; General Houston decided that the time for attack had
- 16 arrived; and
- WHEREAS, Moving into position on the afternoon of April 21,
- 18 the Texans formed their battle lines, and with cries of "Remember
- 19 the Alamo!" and "Remember Goliad!," they surged toward the Mexican
- 20 encampment; when the guns went quiet less than 20 minutes later, the
- 21 Mexican army had been routed, with more than 600 of its troops
- 22 killed and more than 700 taken prisoner; only nine Texans were
- 23 killed or mortally wounded in the fighting; and
- 24 WHEREAS, The following day, General Santa Anna was captured

H.R. No. 1261

- 1 and, after meeting with General Houston, agreed to order all
- 2 Mexican troops to leave Texas; later, he agreed to the Treaties of
- 3 Velasco, which recognized the independence of Texas; with these
- 4 steps, Mexican rule in Texas effectively came to an end, and the
- 5 Republic of Texas was established; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Individuals from a range of backgrounds contributed
- 7 to this epic battlefield victory; among them were a company of
- 8 Tejano troops who served bravely under the command of the prominent
- 9 revolutionary leader Juan Nepomuceno Seguin and are representative
- 10 of the many Hispanics who took up arms in the independence movement;
- 11 another Latino member of the Texan army was Lorenzo de Zavala Jr.,
- 12 the son of the republic's vice president; as an aide to Sam Houston,
- 13 he acted as a translator in the general's negotiations with Santa
- 14 Anna; and
- WHEREAS, Soldiers young and old were part of the fight for the
- 16 Texans; there were teenagers such as 15-year-old William P. Zuber,
- 17 16-year-olds Thomas O'Conner and Cornelius DeVore, and
- 18 19-year-olds Alfonso Steele and Elijah Votaw; on the other end of
- 19 the spectrum were James Curtis Sr., and John S. Menifee, both 57
- 20 years old, and Asa Mitchell, the oldest person in the battle at age
- 21 60; in addition, General Houston's forces contained troops who had
- 22 earlier taken part in the fighting at Goliad as well as individuals
- 23 who had been present at the Alamo but had been ordered to leave the
- 24 fort before its fall to carry out various missions; after surviving
- 25 those engagements, they were able to assist in vanquishing the
- 26 enemy force that had killed so many of their fellow Texans; and
- 27 WHEREAS, Demonstrating the courage and determination that

H.R. No. 1261

- 1 are so much a part of the Texas character, the valiant members of
- 2 Sam Houston's army charged across a grassy battlefield in April of
- 3 1836, intent on securing liberty and avenging their fallen
- 4 comrades; their steps set in motion a series of events that have
- 5 made the State of Texas into the prosperous land that we enjoy
- 6 today, and the momentous events of that day indeed deserve to be
- 7 remembered and celebrated; now, therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby commemorate San Jacinto Day in the year 2019.

Cain

H.R. No. 126	
	1
H.R. No. 126	- 1

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1261 was adopted by the House on April 18, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House