H.R. No. 1263

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Fernando Rodriguez Jr. has earned great distinction
- 2 by becoming the first El Paso native to take the field for the El
- 3 Paso Chihuahuas minor league baseball team; and
- WHEREAS, This milestone comes five years after the Chihuahuas
- 5 played their inaugural season in 2014; the ball club is a Triple-A
- 6 affiliate of the San Diego Padres and competes in the Pacific Coast
- 7 League; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Signed by the Padres on January 22, 2019, Fernie
- 9 Rodriguez took part in the club's extended spring training program
- 10 before joining the El Paso roster; the 34-year-old right-handed
- 11 relief pitcher debuted with the Chihuahuas on April 9, striking out
- 12 four batters in two scoreless innings of work at Tacoma; and
- WHEREAS, A standout player at Franklin High School and El
- 14 Paso Community College, Mr. Rodriguez was chosen by the Anaheim
- 15 Angels in the 2003 draft; he went on to appear in a total of 216
- 16 major league games with the Angels, Houston Astros, and Oakland
- 17 Athletics, notching 242 strikeouts in 231.2 innings; he is working
- 18 his way back to the big leagues after being sidelined by injuries in
- 19 2017 and 2018; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Fernie Rodriguez has pursued his goals with
- 21 remarkable drive and an enduring commitment to excellence, and he
- 22 may take great pride in becoming the first hometown athlete to play
- 23 for El Paso's minor league team; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas

H.R. No. 1263

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Fernando Rodriguez Jr. on becoming
- 2 the first native of El Paso to play for the El Paso Chihuahuas
- 3 baseball team and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued
- 4 success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Rodriguez as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

 ${\tt Moody}$

H.R. No. 1263

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1263 was adopted by the House on April 26, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House