RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, April 2019 has been designated Second Chance Month 2 by presidential proclamation, and this observance serves to honor 3 those individuals who have successfully reentered society after 4 being incarcerated; in addition, the occasion pays tribute to the 5 community groups, faith-based organizations, and employers that 6 lend a helping hand to former prisoners and that work to reduce 7 recidivism; and

8 WHEREAS, Men and women who have been incarcerated face 9 significant barriers in returning to life outside of a detention 10 facility; those who have been able to make that difficult 11 transition are worthy of recognition, not only because of the 12 challenges they have overcome but also because they provide 13 positive examples that help other former prisoners to successfully 14 walk the same path; and

15 WHEREAS, The Lone Star State is home to a multitude of 16 individuals who have transcended their troubled pasts to become 17 productive citizens; included among their number are the following 18 men and women who are playing prominent roles in the field of public 19 policy and other community initiatives; and

20 WHEREAS, Following incarceration, Jorge Renaud devoted 21 himself to furthering his education and earned his master's degree 22 in social work from The University of Texas at Austin; he has worked 23 to change policy on the state and local levels and has served as a 24 mentor to youth and adults to help them realize their full

1

1 potential; and

2 WHEREAS, Douglas Smith became a statewide expert in criminal 3 justice policy after his release from prison, and he has counseled 4 new leaders on other public policy matters as well; in addition to 5 his work as an adjunct professor at UT, he serves as treasurer of 6 the Sobering Center Austin board; and

7 WHEREAS, Following his detention, Reginald Smith earned his 8 bachelor's degree and will soon graduate with a master's degree in 9 social work from UT; he is an expert in peer support and reentry and 10 serves on the Judicial Commission on Mental Health, as chair of the 11 Austin/Travis County Reentry Roundtable, and as a member of the 12 Sobering Center Austin board; and

WHEREAS, Darwin Hamilton, who successfully completed a parole period of 17 years without incident, is a published author and a member of the board of Grassroots Leadership; he also chairs the Reentry Advocacy Project and is an alumni of JustLeadershipUSA and Leadership Austin; and

WHEREAS, Since her release, Lauren Johnson has dedicated herself to effecting policy change at the local and state level, and her accomplishments have had a positive impact on thousands of Texans; additionally, she is a published author and an alumna of JustLeadershipUSA and Leadership Austin; the mother of three boys, she gave birth to her first child during incarceration; and

24 WHEREAS, Others who have exited the criminal justice system 25 and who are making a notable difference in their community include 26 Allison Franklin, who is nationally recognized for her work in 27 behalf of survivors of human trafficking, Jose Flores, who works to

2

1 prevent youth from becoming juvenile offenders, and Carl Hunter II, 2 David Johnson, and Kevin Garrett, who are Peer Policy Fellowship 3 trailblazers; moreover, Susanna Bannon, Jacqueline Frost, and 4 Lewis Conway Jr. have distinguished themselves in their efforts 5 related to education, civic engagement, and policy change; and

6 WHEREAS, Many more individuals throughout our state have 7 likewise emerged from the criminal justice system to realize 8 meaningful goals in a broad range of endeavors, and their 9 experiences offer a moving testament to the human potential for 10 redemption; now, therefore, be it

11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 12 Legislature hereby recognize April 2019 as Second Chance Month and 13 commend those who have made a successful transition to life outside 14 the corrections system as well as those organizations and 15 individuals who have assisted in that process.

Allen

3

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1268 was adopted by the House on April 18, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House