H.R. No. 1277

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at San Antonio is
celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2019; and

3 WHEREAS, In 1969, state senator Joe J. Bernal sponsored the 4 bill establishing UTSA as the Alamo City's first public university, 5 and he played a key role in the final negotiations to pass the 6 legislation; and

7 WHEREAS, The Class of 1973, the first to graduate from UTSA, 8 numbered 670 students; today, enrollment exceeds 32,000, and the 9 institution has some 132,000 alumni, who contribute to communities 10 around the world; and

11 WHEREAS, UTSA brings national recognition to Texas through 12 its programs of distinction in cybersecurity, health, energy, 13 sustainability, and human and social development; it has been 14 ranked as the nation's number one Hispanic-serving institution and 15 third most military-friendly institution, as well as one of the top 16 100 young universities in the world; and

WHEREAS, Designated by the Texas Legislature as an emerging research university, UTSA is on its way to earning both National Research University Fund eligibility and the highest research designation from the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching; and

WHEREAS, UTSA is creating a collaborative and impactful government-university-industry ecosystem in San Antonio through its new National Security Collaboration Center, the state's first

1

H.R. No. 1277

program of its kind; it is also launching the state's first School
of Data Science; and

3 WHEREAS, Fifty percent of UTSA students are the first in 4 their families to attend college, and as an inclusive institution, 5 it provides opportunities for individuals from all backgrounds to 6 thrive; and

7 WHEREAS, The university is a catalyst for change in San 8 Antonio, and while driving the city's knowledge economy, it acts as 9 a prosperity engine for the entire state; and

10 WHEREAS, Since its founding, UTSA has transformed the lives 11 of innumerable Texans, providing them with the education required 12 to achieve their dreams and preparing them to effect positive 13 change in the world around them; now, therefore, be it

14 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 15 Legislature hereby commemorate the 50th anniversary of the 16 establishment of The University of Texas at San Antonio and extend 17 to all those associated with this rising institution sincere best 18 wishes for continued success; and, be it further

19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 20 prepared for the university as an expression of high regard by the 21 Texas House of Representatives.

Martinez Fischer

2

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez

Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 1277

H.R. No. 1277

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1277 was adopted by the House on April 23, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House