H.R. No. 1282

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Peyton Phillips of Austin won the first annual K1
 Speed E-World Championship in Irvine, California, on March 23,
 2019; and

WHEREAS, Peyton's journey to becoming the inaugural K1 Speed Indoor Go Kart Racing world champion began at the organization's Texas competition on February 24, where he claimed the state title and an invitation to represent the Lone Star State in the national competition in California; and

9 WHEREAS, Competing against 11 drivers from across the 10 country, Peyton made a comeback from a slow start in the Wildcard 11 consolation bracket to reach the tournament's final four; he edged 12 into the lead in a series of head-to-head matchups, besting his 13 opponents by a margin of just 0.124 seconds to be crowned the United 14 States champion; and

WHEREAS, Peyton advanced to the international finals the following morning, going up against drivers from Puerto Rico, Canada, Mexico, and China to race for the ultimate prize; in the course of the day, participants competed for the best times on three different tracks in Ontario, Anaheim, and Irvine, with Peyton coming out on top to capture the first-ever indoor electric karting world championship; and

22 WHEREAS, Demonstrating hard work, skill, and unwavering 23 determination in the pursuit of his goals, Peyton Phillips has 24 proven himself to be a source of great pride to his family and his

1

1 community, and his impressive accomplishments are indeed deserving 2 of recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate Peyton Phillips on winning the 2019
K1 Speed E-World Championship and extend to him sincere best wishes
for continued success; and, be it further

7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 8 prepared for Peyton as an expression of high regard by the Texas 9 House of Representatives.

Bucy

H.R. No. 1282

2

H.R. No. 1282

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1282 was adopted by the House on May 3, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House