By: Button

H.R. No. 1311

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Dallas is celebrating its
 50th anniversary in 2019; and

3 WHEREAS, In 1961, three visionary founders of Texas 4 Instruments, Eugene McDermott, J. Erik Jonsson, and Cecil Green, 5 established the Graduate Research Center of the Southwest; it was 6 renamed the Southwest Center for Advanced Studies in 1967, and two 7 years later the founders transferred the center to The University 8 of Texas System; that same year, the Texas Legislature established 9 UT Dallas, with an effective date of September 1969; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Francis Johnson served as acting president 10 11 until Dr. Bryce Jordan took the helm in July 1971, and Dr. Robert 12 Rutford became the second president in May 1982; Dr. Franklyn Jenifer was appointed president in July 1994, and during his 13 14 11-year tenure, the school's enrollment increased more than 61 percent and many new buildings were constructed; Dr. David Daniel 15 16 became the fourth president in June 2005, and under his leadership, UT Dallas doubled research expenditures, launched \$300 million in 17 new construction, added 17 new degree programs, and raised \$100 18 million in private funds; Dr. Hobson Wildenthal was appointed 19 president ad interim in May 2015, and current president Dr. Richard 20 21 Benson was inaugurated in October 2016; and

22 WHEREAS, Under Dr. Benson's guidance, UT Dallas has achieved 23 top-tier status with its designation by the Carnegie Commission on 24 Higher Education as an R1 doctoral university of very high research

1

activity and its achievement of critical benchmark criteria
 required to qualify for funding from the National Research
 University Fund; and

H.R. No. 1311

4 WHEREAS, Through the years, more than 110,000 alumni have 5 earned over 122,000 degrees from UT Dallas, and today, the university offers 140 degree programs and boasts an enrollment of 6 nearly 30,000 students; in 2018, 37 percent of entering freshmen 7 8 were in the top 10 percent of their high school graduating class, and 66 percent ranked in the top 25 percent; that same year, 172 9 National Merit Scholars chose to attend UT Dallas, more than any 10 other university in Texas; and 11

WHEREAS, The university's faculty includes a Nobel laureate as well as members of the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering; in 2015, Dr. Aziz Sancar became the first graduate of UT Dallas to receive a Nobel Prize, winning the chemistry prize for his work detailing how cells continuously monitor and repair damaged DNA on a molecular level; and

18 WHEREAS, UT Dallas is an economic driver for the North Texas 19 region; more than 4,500 internships have been awarded to UT Dallas 20 students, and 21 of the 22 Fortune 500 companies in the Dallas/Fort 21 Worth Metroplex have hired UT Dallas graduates; and

22 WHEREAS, For the past half century, UT Dallas has provided 23 its students with a strong foundation for achievement, and in so 24 doing, it has contributed greatly to the growth and prosperity of 25 the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

26 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 27 Legislature hereby commemorate the 50th anniversary of The

2

1 University of Texas at Dallas and extend to all those associated 2 with the university sincere best wishes for continued success in 3 their important work; and, be it further

H.R. No. 1311

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for UT Dallas as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.