H.R. No. 1383

By: Wray

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The members of Central Presbyterian Church in 2 Waxahachie are celebrating the 100th anniversary of their church's 3 establishment on April 28, 2019; and

WHEREAS, On Easter Sunday, 1919, the Central Presbyterian Church congregation held the inaugural service in its new sanctuary following 22 months of construction; architect C. D. Hill designed the spacious structure in the style of late Gothic Revival, with a seating capacity for 500 worshippers; the church's original pipe organ, an Austin Opus 809, is still in operation; and

10 WHEREAS, In the century since its opening, Central 11 Presbyterian has benefited from the dedicated efforts of a number 12 of outstanding clergymen, including the Reverend Matt Curry, who 13 leads the congregation today; and

14 WHEREAS, United by their shared faith and strong traditions, the members of this notable house of worship have established a 15 variety of commendable programs that foster fellowship and offer 16 help to those in need, including the Marthas, Second Saturday 17 Service, Kids Against Hunger, and Worship Outside the Walls; the 18 church has worked closely with the Presbyterian Children's Homes 19 20 and Services over the years and provided invaluable support to the 21 community through partnerships with a number of local organizations, including Waxahachie Care, CASA, Gingerbread House, 22 23 and Daniel's Den; and

24

WHEREAS, Countless Waxahachie residents have looked to

1

1 Central Presbyterian Church for spiritual guidance in the past 2 century, and it is a pleasure to join in honoring the church at this 3 special time in its rich history; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1383

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of Central
Presbyterian Church and extend to its members sincere best wishes
for the future; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas 10 House of Representatives.

2