H.R. No. 1393

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Since the 1970s, April has been set aside as
National Autism Awareness Month in order to inform the public about
autism and issues within the autism community; and

WHEREAS, Autism spectrum disorder and autism are general terms for a group of complex disorders of brain development; they are characterized by varying levels of difficulty in social interaction, verbal and nonverbal communication, and repetitive behaviors; and

9 WHEREAS, According to the United States Centers for Disease 10 Control and Prevention, 1 in every 59 children is affected by 11 autism, compared with 1 in 150 in 2000; the Autism Society 12 calculates that more than 3.5 million Americans of all ages live 13 with an autism spectrum disorder; and

WHEREAS, The cause of this disorder is unknown, but behavioral intervention can dramatically improve outcomes; early diagnosis and intervention are crucial to ensure effective treatment that can help these valuable members of society use their skills and talents to reach their full potential; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 21 Legislature hereby recognize April 2019 as Autism Awareness Month 22 and encourage all Texans to learn more about autism spectrum 23 disorder.

Cain

1

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez

Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 1393

H.R. No. 1393

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1393 was adopted by the House on April 25, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House