H.R. No. 1415

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Robert A. Jackson is retiring as state director of
- 2 AARP Texas on August 17, 2019, drawing to a close 15 years of
- 3 dedicated service to the organization; and
- WHEREAS, Under Mr. Jackson's leadership, AARP Texas has
- 5 grown to include more than 2.3 million members; he has assembled a
- 6 strong corps of volunteers across the state and a staff that
- 7 reflects the diversity of Texas, and he has placed a special
- 8 emphasis on expanding the group's presence in San Antonio and the
- 9 Rio Grande Valley; and
- 10 WHEREAS, A recognized expert on quardianship issues,
- 11 Mr. Jackson has helped Texas become a national leader in
- 12 guardianship reform and has assisted the state's efforts to combat
- 13 elder abuse and financial exploitation; in June 2018, he testified
- 14 on these subjects before the Congressional Elder Justice Caucus as
- 15 part of World Elder Abuse Awareness Day; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Before joining AARP, Bob Jackson enjoyed a long and
- 17 accomplished career practicing elder law in Florida; he also served
- 18 as general counsel and legislative affairs director for the Florida
- 19 Department of Elder Affairs, in addition to holding a number of
- 20 other important positions; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Robert Jackson's dedication, professionalism, and
- 22 expertise have made a positive difference in the lives of many Texas
- 23 residents, and he may indeed reflect with pride on his
- 24 distinguished record of service; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1415

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Robert A. Jackson on his retirement
- 3 as director of AARP Texas and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 4 continued happiness; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Jackson as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Hinojosa

H.R. No. 1415

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1415 was adopted by the House on May 10, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House