RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The University of Texas at San Antonio has earned 2 distinction for its nationally recognized cybersecurity programs; 3 and 4 WHEREAS, Situated in a region with the largest concentration 5 of cybersecurity professionals outside of Washington, D.C., UTSA offers 20 top-ranked undergraduate, graduate, and certificate 6 7 degree programs in cybersecurity and data sciences, with more than 4,000 students enrolled in these programs; moreover, the university 8 is building the state's first school of data science in an effort to 9 meet the country's growing demand for information security analysts 10 11 and to produce the nation's top research and workforce talent in data analytics, business intelligence, and cybersecurity; and 12 13 WHEREAS, UTSA has created а collaborative 14 government-university-industry ecosystem in San Antonio through its new National Security Collaboration Center, the first of its 15 kind in Texas; through the NSCC, the school has established 16 important partnerships with the National Security Agency, the 17 Department of Homeland Security, the Department of Energy, the 18 Federal Bureau of Investigation, and other government and military 19 20 organizations; UTSA is also working with the Texas Department of 21 Information Resources to help local government agencies improve their ability to respond to cybersecurity events, and it will 22 23 create and operate the Texas Information Sharing and Analysis Organization to aid counties and communities in early detection and 24

- 1 coordination of response to cybersecurity attacks; and
- WHEREAS, Designated by the Texas Legislature as an emerging
- 3 research university, UTSA has also been named a Center of Academic
- 4 Excellence by the NSA, and it is on the fast track to attaining
- 5 National Research University Fund eligibility and the highest
- 6 research designation by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement
- 7 of Teaching; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Home to one of the best cybersecurity programs in
- 9 the country, The University of Texas at San Antonio is training a
- 10 skilled workforce for a dynamic, high-demand industry and helping
- 11 to create a safer and more resilient cyber environment in Texas and
- 12 beyond; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 14 Legislature hereby recognize The University of Texas at San Antonio
- 15 for its leadership in the field of cybersecurity and extend to all
- 16 those associated with the institution sincere best wishes for
- 17 continued success; and, be it further
- 18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 19 prepared for the university as an expression of high regard by the
- 20 Texas House of Representatives.

Minjarez

H.R. No. 1456

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Noble Guillen Allen Oliverson Allison Gutierrez Ortega Anchia Harless Pacheco Anderson Harris Paddie Hefner Ashby Parker Bailes Patterson Hernandez Beckley Herrero Paul Bell of Kaufman Hinojosa Perez Bell of Montgomery Holland Phelan Price Bernal Howard Huberty Biedermann Ramos Blanco Hunter Raney Israel Raymond Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Reynolds J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Rodriguez Johnson of Harris Buckley Romero, Jr. Bucy Kacal Rose Burns King of Hemphill Rosenthal King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Sanford Button Schaefer Klick Cain Shaheen Calanni Krause Sheffield Canales Kuempel Sherman, Sr. Capriglione Lambert Shine Clardy Smith Landgraf Cole Smithee Lang Coleman Larson Springer Collier Leach Stephenson Cortez Leman Stickland Craddick Longoria Stucky Lopez Swanson Cyrier Darby Lozano Talarico Thierry Davis of Dallas Lucio III Davis of Harris Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris Dean Deshotel Metcalf Tinderholt Dominguez Meyer Toth Dutton Meza Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant Farrar Middleton Miller VanDeaver Fierro Flynn Minjarez Vo Walle Frank Moody Frullo Morales White Geren Morrison Wilson Wray Gervin-Hawkins Muñoz, Jr. Goldman Murphy Wu González of Dallas Zedler Murr González of El Paso Neave Zerwas

Zwiener

Nevárez

Goodwin

	H.R. No. 1456
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1456 w	as adopted by the House on May 17,
2019, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House