H.R. No. 1482

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Scott Houdashell and Curtis McGill of Amarillo have
2 experienced considerable acclaim and success with their exciting
3 new product, the Eggmazing Egg Decorator; and

WHEREAS, Convinced there was a better way to decorate Easter
eggs than the messy traditional process involving dyes and vinegar,
Mr. Houdashell designed a self-stabilizing egg lathe that allows
families to decorate using colored markers on a spinning egg; and

8 WHEREAS, Together, Mr. Houdashell and Mr. McGill formed a 9 company, HeyBuddyHeyPal, LLC, and manufactured 10,000 units of the 10 Eggmazing decorator; working with their families, they marketed it 11 and sold it themselves, and shortly before Easter 2017, a video of 12 the device went viral on the Internet, receiving 13.6 million 13 views; by Easter 2018, the device was number one in the toy category 14 on Amazon.com; and

WHEREAS, In January 2017, Mr. Houdashell, Mr. McGill, and the Eggmazing decorator auditioned for the reality TV show *Shark Tank*, and the following year, they appeared on the national broadcast, receiving three offers to invest; they accepted the offer from inventor Lori Greiner, whose \$350,000 investment bought her 10 percent of the company; and

21 WHEREAS, Through their creativity, enterprise, and hard 22 work, Scott Houdashell and Curtis McGill have proven to be dynamic 23 participants in the proud Texas tradition of innovation and 24 entrepreneurship; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1482

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Scott Houdashell and Curtis McGill 3 on the success of the Eggmazing Egg Decorator and extend to them 4 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Mr. Houdashell and Mr. McGill as an expression of high 7 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Smithee

H.R. No. 1482

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1482 was adopted by the House on May 10, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House