H.R. No. 1515

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The citizens of Raymondville lost an esteemed 2 community leader with the passing of longtime city commissioner 3 Eziquiel D. Cavazos on October 10, 2017, at the age of 64; and

WHEREAS, The son of Urbano and Delores Cavazos, Zeke Cavazos was born in Raymondville on December 5, 1952, and grew up with five siblings, Anita, Doris, Margaret, Louisa, and Urbano; he graduated from Texas A&I University and went on to earn a master's degree in education; and

9 WHEREAS, First named a Raymondville city commissioner in 2001, Mr. Cavazos was reelected to a fifth consecutive term in May 10 11 2017; he further enjoyed a fulfilling career as an educator, and he 12 served as principal of Myra Green Middle School in the Raymondville Independent School District; a talented musician who played guitar, 13 piano, and saxophone, he taught music at L. C. Smith Elementary, 14 and he also taught art for Lasara ISD; moreover, he tirelessly 15 worked in behalf of his fellow citizens as a volunteer firefighter; 16 and 17

18 WHEREAS, Mr. Cavazos was blessed with the love and support of 19 his wife, Josie, and he took great pride in his two children, Rob 20 and Lisa, and his four grandchildren, Avrie, Addison, Parker, and 21 Colton; and

22 WHEREAS, A devoted family man and a dedicated public servant, 23 Zeke Cavazos is deeply missed, but the compassion, joy, and 24 generosity with which he lived his life will forever inspire all who

1

H.R. No. 1515

1 had the good fortune to know him; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 3 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Eziquiel D. Cavazos 4 and extend sincere condolences to his many relatives and friends; 5 and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 8 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Zeke 9 Cavazos.

Guillen

H.R. No. 1515

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1515 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 10, 2019.

Chief Clerk of the House