H.R. No. 1526

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Anne L. Magee Elementary School in Edinburg has been 2 named a 2018 National Blue Ribbon School, one of the most 3 prestigious designations an elementary or secondary school in the 4 United States can receive; and

5 WHEREAS, The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program was created by the U.S. Department of Education in 1982 to recognize campuses 6 that have demonstrated superior academic performance or made 7 notable progress in improving outcomes among economically 8 disadvantaged students; Magee Elementary was one of only 349 public 9 and private schools nationwide and 24 schools in Texas to have 10 11 earned this impressive honor in 2018; and

12 WHEREAS, Part of the Edinburg Consolidated Independent 13 School District, Magee Elementary serves more than 420 students in 14 prekindergarten through fifth grade; under the able guidance of principal Marla Cavazos, the school has distinguished itself by 15 meeting the state's rigorous performance and accountability 16 standards, and it has earned special recognition for high 17 18 achievement in the subjects of English language arts/reading, mathematics, science, and postsecondary readiness; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Through hard work and perseverance, the teachers and 21 students of Magee Elementary School have established a record of 22 scholastic excellence, and their outstanding efforts have been duly 23 recognized with the Blue Ribbon School award; now, therefore, be it 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas

1

Legislature hereby congratulate Anne L. Magee Elementary School on its selection as a 2018 National Blue Ribbon School by the U.S. Department of Education and extend to the school's faculty, staff, and students sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Canales

H.R. No. 1526

H.R. No. 1526

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1526 was adopted by the House on May 17, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House