H.R. No. 1540

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud members of the South Central Region of Alpha
Kappa Alpha Sorority are gathering in Austin on May 14, 2019, to
celebrate Alpha Kappa Alpha Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, The nation's first Greek sorority for African American women, Alpha Kappa Alpha was founded as a social and service organization on January 15, 1908, by Howard University undergraduate Ethel Hedgeman Lyle and 19 other students; these inspiring women are today known as "the Twenty Pearls"; and

9 WHEREAS, The sorority seeks to cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical standards, to promote unity and friendship 10 11 among college women, to improve the social stature of women of all 12 ages, and to be of service to all mankind; a member of the National Pan-Hellenic Council, Alpha Kappa Alpha serves people around the 13 14 world through the efforts of nearly 300,000 members in over 1,000 chapters located in the United States, the U.S. Virgin Islands, the 15 16 Bahamas, Bermuda, Canada, Germany, South Korea, Japan, Dubai, and Liberia; and 17

WHEREAS, For more than a century, the group has made a positive difference with its important work in the areas of civil rights, education, economic empowerment, and health care; under the leadership of the sorority's 30th international president, Dr. Glenda Baskin Glover, Alpha Kappa Alpha continues to focus on the personal and professional development of its members, on the bonds of sisterhood, and on its domestic and international servant

1

H.R. No. 1540

1 leadership; and

2 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha has long remained at the forefront 3 of effective advocacy and social change, and its members' efforts 4 have made an important contribution to the goals of equality and 5 equity for all citizens of the world; now, therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 7 Legislature hereby recognize May 14, 2019, as Alpha Kappa Alpha Day 8 at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the sorority's 9 visiting delegation.

> Allen Thompson of Harris

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez

Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

## H.R. No. 1540

H.R. No. 1540

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1540 was adopted by the House on May 14, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House