H.R. No. 1561

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Stephen F. Austin State University women's 2 bowling team proved itself the finest in the nation by winning the 3 title at the 2019 National Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship, 4 which took place April 11-13 in Wickliffe, Ohio; and

5 WHEREAS, SFA punched its ticket to the event with a win against Prairie View A&M University on April 5 in Houston; after 6 joining the other seven qualifying teams in Wickliffe, the 7 Ladyjacks opened championship week with a 2-1 win over 8 fourth-seeded Sam Houston State University; the team then edged 9 second-seeded McKendree University by just two pins in a decisive 10 11 final game of a best-of-seven Baker match competition; SFA went on 12 to overpower the squad from the University of Maryland Eastern Shore to advance to its third NCAA championship match in the 13 14 program's 10-year history; and

WHEREAS, With the title on the line, the Ladyjacks squared 15 off against the No. 1-ranked defending champions from Vanderbilt 16 University; after dropping game one, the SFA bowlers caught fire 17 and rolled their way to four consecutive game victories to record a 18 4-1 championship triumph; the win earned the team its second 19 national bowling title in the past four years, and the Ladyjacks 20 21 received an additional honor when they were voted as the top squad in the nation by the National Tenpin Coaches Association; and 22

23 WHEREAS, Ably led by head coach Amber Lemke, SFA's 24 five-bowler lineup included seniors Paige Beeney and Dakotah

1

H.R. No. 1561

1 Hazlewood, sophomores Sarah Gill and Dakota Faichnie, and freshman Carlene Beyer; Ms. Beeney was named an NTCA All-American and the 2 3 2019 NCAA Bowling Championship MVP, while Ms. Hazlewood also earned the NTCA All-American designation as well as NCAA Championship 4 5 All-Tournament Team honors; furthermore, Ms. Beyer was SFA's top individual bowler in the traditional team matches at the NCAA 6 championship, and Ms. Gill went on to compete for an individual 7 8 national title at the 2019 United States Bowling Congress Intercollegiate Singles Championships; the Ladyjacks also received 9 10 valuable contributions throughout the season from the other members of the roster: Megan Eaglehouse, Annie Leihardt, Sarah Voiers, and 11 12 Amber Whitcomb, as well as volunteer assistant Steve Lemke; and

13 WHEREAS, Winning a national championship represents the 14 culmination of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering 15 commitment to excellence, and the members of the Ladyjacks bowling 16 team will treasure the memory of this accomplishment for the rest of 17 their lives; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 19 Legislature hereby congratulate the Stephen F. Austin State 20 University bowling team on winning the title at the 2019 National 21 Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship and extend to the team's 22 players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued 23 success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Clardy

2

H.R. No. 1561

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1561 was adopted by the House on May 17, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House