RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Students from Sam Houston State University have 2 rendered outstanding service to their fellow Texans as participants 3 in the Sam Houston Austin Internship Program during the 86th 4 Legislature; and

WHEREAS, Founded in 2013, this worthwhile initiative is 5 designed to give SHSU students the unique opportunity to work in the 6 7 offices of state lawmakers and observe the legislative process up close; over the course of the legislative session, participants 8 handle a range of important responsibilities and receive mentoring 9 from elected officials and their staffs; students selected for this 10 11 prestigious program earn academic credit while building their 12 resumes and establishing professional networks; and

13 WHEREAS, This year's class of interns includes Maggie Denena 14 in the office of State Representative Will Metcalf, Anne Jamarik in the office of State Representative Trent Ashby, Jezel Luna in the 15 office of State Representative Rick Miller, Ilexus Williams and 16 Karen Tinajero in the office of State Representative Armando 17 18 "Mando" Martinez, Mackenzie Smith in the office of State Representative Four Price, Jordan Davis in the office of State 19 Representative Chris Turner, Yvana Kepnga in the office of State 20 21 Representative Eric Johnson, Peyton Reed in the office of State Representative Poncho Nevárez, Monica Dike in the office of State 22 Representative Senfronia Thompson, and Brittany Gibson with the 23

Texas Association of Counties; and

24

H.R. No. 1579

- 1 WHEREAS, These noteworthy Texans have performed their duties
- 2 as legislative interns with skill and dedication, and they have
- 3 gained valuable leadership experience while learning more about the
- 4 issues confronting citizens of the Lone Star State; now, therefore,
- 5 be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby honor the participants in the Sam Houston Austin
- 8 Internship Program and extend to them sincere best wishes for
- 9 continued success in all their endeavors; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 11 for the students as an expression of high regard by the Texas House
- 12 of Representatives.

Metcalf Miller Price

H.R. No. 1579

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1579 was adopted by the House on May 17, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House