## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Collegiate and alumnae members of the Delta Sigma

2 Theta Sorority are gathering in Austin on May 15, 2019, to mark Red

3 and White Day, a day of advocacy and action, at the State Capitol;

4 and

13

5 WHEREAS, The Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was initiated in 1913

6 at Howard University in Washington, D.C.; the 22 original members

7 included four young women from Texas, Zephyr Chisom Carter, Jessie

8 McGuire Dent, Frederica Chase Dodd, and Myra Davis Hemmings, all

9 committed to academic excellence and social change; members marched

10 in a women's suffrage parade soon after, and they incorporated as a

11 national organization in 1930; and

WHEREAS, Since its founding, more than 200,000 women have

joined Delta Sigma Theta in the United States and several foreign

14 countries; the sorority encompasses approximately 1,000 chapters,

15 with many in the Lone Star State; participants work toward positive

16 change in their communities and advocate for economic development,

17 international awareness, physical and mental health, and improved

18 education; moreover, they mentor at-risk young women, conduct voter

19 awareness drives, host political forums, and help guide and inform

20 public policy; and

21 WHEREAS, Many members of the sorority have gone on to have

22 distinguished careers in public service, including Texas State

23 Representatives Rhetta Andrews Bowers and Toni Rose, as well as the

24 late state representative Ruth Jones McClendon and the late

H.R. No. 1633

- 1 congresswoman Barbara Jordan; and
- 2 WHEREAS, The women of Delta Sigma Theta have enriched the
- 3 State of Texas and the nation with their generosity and their wide
- 4 array of programs and services, and it is indeed a pleasure to
- 5 commend them for their noteworthy endeavors; now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby recognize May 15, 2019, as Red and White Day at
- 8 the State Capitol and extend to all those involved with the Delta
- 9 Sigma Theta Sorority sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it
- 10 further
- 11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 12 prepared for the sorority as an expression of high regard by the
- 13 Texas House of Representatives.

Rose Bowers

## H.R. No. 1633

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Noble Guillen Allen Oliverson Allison Gutierrez Ortega Anchia Harless Pacheco Anderson Harris Paddie Hefner Ashby Parker Bailes Patterson Hernandez Beckley Herrero Paul Bell of Kaufman Hinojosa Perez Bell of Montgomery Holland Phelan Price Bernal Howard Huberty Biedermann Ramos Blanco Hunter Raney Israel Raymond Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Reynolds J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Rodriguez Johnson of Harris Buckley Romero, Jr. Bucy Kacal Rose Burns King of Hemphill Rosenthal King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Sanford Button Schaefer Klick Cain Shaheen Calanni Krause Sheffield Canales Kuempel Sherman, Sr. Capriglione Lambert Shine Clardy Smith Landgraf Cole Smithee Lang Coleman Larson Springer Collier Leach Stephenson Cortez Leman Stickland Craddick Longoria Stucky Lopez Swanson Cyrier Darby Talarico Lozano Thierry Davis of Dallas Lucio III Davis of Harris Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris Dean Deshotel Metcalf Tinderholt Dominguez Meyer Toth Dutton Meza Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant Farrar Middleton Miller VanDeaver Fierro Flynn Minjarez Vo Walle Frank Moody Frullo Morales White Geren Morrison Wilson Wray Gervin-Hawkins Muñoz, Jr. Goldman Murphy Wu González of Dallas Zedler Murr González of El Paso Neave Zerwas

Zwiener

Nevárez

Goodwin

		H.R. No. 1633
	Speaker of	the House
I certify that H.R. No.	1633 was adopted by the Ho	ouse on May 15,
2019, by a non-record vote.		

Chief Clerk of the House