H.R. No. 1637

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Promise House, an independent charitable 2 organization founded in 1984, is dedicated to providing essential 3 services to youth experiencing homelessness in Dallas and North 4 Texas; and

5 WHEREAS, The organization was established by the Lovers Lane United Methodist Church to provide much-needed assistance to 6 7 homeless and runaway youth; the church purchased a large home near downtown Dallas, which it converted into a 16-bed emergency 8 9 shelter; since that time, Promise House has kept its doors open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, to children, young adults, and 10 11 families in crisis, and it served more than 2,000 clients last year 12 alone; and

WHEREAS, From its beginnings as an emergency shelter, Promise House has expanded its programming to include crisis intervention, transitional housing, teen pregnancy and parenting services, counseling, education, and outreach; in addition to offering short-term and long-term residential services, the organization operates a number of drop-in centers to provide easy access to information and resources; and

20 WHEREAS, With the goal of ending youth homelessness and 21 guiding its clients to safety, stability, and success, Promise 22 House has helped to change countless young lives for the better, and 23 all those associated with this outstanding organization are to be 24 commended for their commitment to addressing a vital community

1

H.R. No. 1637

1 need; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 3 Legislature hereby honor Promise House for its work to alleviate 4 youth homelessness in Dallas and North Texas and extend to the 5 organization and its clients sincere best wishes for the future; 6 and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Promise House as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

González of Dallas

H.R. No. 1637

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1637 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House