H.R. No. 1640

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Cystic fibrosis, commonly referred to as CF, is a

2 genetic disorder that affects an estimated 30,000 Americans; and

3 WHEREAS, A progressive and life-threatening disease, CF

4 impairs the function of the body's respiratory and digestive

5 systems; in the United States, approximately 1,000 new cases are

6 diagnosed each year, and more than 75 percent of patients with CF

7 are diagnosed before the age of two; and

8 WHEREAS, While CF remains a serious health concern around the

globe, there have been significant gains in treatment; today, the

10 median predicted survival age for persons with the disease is close

11 to 40 years, a dramatic improvement since the 1950s, when children

12 with CF rarely lived to attend elementary school; as a result of the

13 medical advances, the number of adults living with the disease has

14 steadily grown; and

9

WHEREAS, Early diagnosis and treatment of CF can greatly

16 enhance the quality of life and longevity of patients; in addition

17 to employing a daily regimen of home care, patients can benefit from

18 antibiotics and other innovative treatments that can help

19 considerably in managing their symptoms; moreover, Texas is home to

20 a number of world-class centers that specialize in the diagnosis of

21 CF and the care of persons living with the disease; and

22 WHEREAS, Public awareness is crucial to enabling more

23 patients with CF to live longer, healthier lives, and Cystic

24 Fibrosis Awareness Month in May provides an opportune time to

H.R. No. 1640

- 1 promote education about the disease and to encourage support for
- 2 additional research; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby recognize May 2019 as Cystic Fibrosis Awareness
- 5 Month and urge Texans to learn more about CF and to get involved in
- 6 the effort to find a cure for this devastating disease.

Price

H.R. No. 1640

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1640 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House