H.R. No. 1643

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, PJ Putnam, a U.S. Air Force veteran and Dallas-based 2 corporate attorney, bravely risked his own safety to render 3 assistance to the victim of a major truck accident on Interstate 35 4 on April 24, 2019; and

5 WHEREAS, At approximately 11 a.m., Mr. Putnam was traveling 6 through Salado during a heavy rainstorm, when a sudden wind shear 7 caused two 18-wheelers on the highway to collide; one of the trucks 8 jackknifed into a guard rail while the other careened through three 9 lanes of traffic, before rolling over and sliding to a stop at the 10 edge of the freeway; and

11 WHEREAS, Mr. Putnam, who narrowly managed to avoid being in 12 the path of the crashing semis, exited his vehicle and quickly ensured that the driver of the jackknifed truck was not seriously 13 14 injured; he then approached the overturned vehicle, where he found the second motorist in shock and unable to free himself from the 15 16 cab; with the help of a bystander, Mr. Putnam carried the driver a safe distance away from the vehicle; he then used his first aid 17 training to treat the man for shock until emergency medical crews 18 could take over; thanks in large part to Mr. Putnam's swift 19 20 response, there were no fatalities or serious injuries; and

21 WHEREAS, In the immediate aftermath of a harrowing accident, 22 PJ Putnam heroically sprang into action to rescue a fellow citizen, 23 and his efforts on that day have distinguished him as an individual 24 of outstanding courage and character; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1643

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 2 Legislature hereby commend PJ Putnam for providing aid to the 3 victim of a major highway accident and extend to him sincere best 4 wishes for the future; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Mr. Putnam as an expression of high regard by the Texas 7 House of Representatives.

Leach

H.R. No. 1643

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1643 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House