H.R. No. 1648

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The passing of Bessie M. Swindle on March 28, 2019,

2 at the age of 79, concluded a remarkable life of service to

3 Southeast Houston; and

5

6

8

WHEREAS, Born in Loreauville, Louisiana, Bessie Swindle

moved to Houston in the 1950s and settled in the Sunnyside

neighborhood; she founded the Cloverland Civic Club and as its

7 president, she represented 400 homeowners and worked tirelessly to

improve the lives of her neighbors, offering aid to families in need

9 and raising money for scholarships; in 1994, she became president

10 of the Southeast Coalition of Civic Clubs, and after acting as

11 community liaison for the Precinct 7 constable, she went on to serve

12 as outreach coordinator for Congressman Al Green; she was also a

13 member of the City of Houston's Police Officers' Civil Service

14 Commission and the mayor's Tower Commission; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Swindle's dedicated activism helped bring

16 Sunnyside a library, a police storefront, and an extensive

17 renovation of Cloverland Park; a powerful advocate for

18 environmental justice, she organized 2,000 residents in opposition

19 to a concrete plant in 2002, and she continued to fight the threat

20 of pollution into the present decade; she championed numerous

21 worthwhile initiatives, among them a 2006 study of racial

22 disparities in the placement of children in child protective

23 services custody; a woman of faith, she was an active member of

24 St. Francis Xavier Catholic Church; in 2007, the City of Houston

H.R. No. 1648

- 1 celebrated Bessie M. Swindle Day and Partnership of Service Day in
- 2 her honor, and two years later, it renamed a popular facility the
- 3 Bessie Swindle Community Center; she received myriad other
- 4 accolades through the years, including the Mayor's Award for
- 5 Outstanding Volunteer Service and an honorary degree from the
- 6 Houston Community College System; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Through her selfless devotion to the betterment of
- 8 her community, Bessie Swindle made a meaningful difference in
- 9 countless lives, and her contributions will continue to resonate in
- 10 the years to come; now, therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Bessie M. Swindle
- 13 and extend sincere condolences to all who mourn her passing; and, be
- 14 it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 17 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Bessie M.
- 18 Swindle.

Thierry

H.R. No. 1648

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Noble Guillen Allen Oliverson Allison Gutierrez Ortega Anchia Harless Pacheco Anderson Harris Paddie Hefner Ashby Parker Bailes Patterson Hernandez Beckley Herrero Paul Bell of Kaufman Hinojosa Perez Bell of Montgomery Holland Phelan Price Bernal Howard Huberty Biedermann Ramos Blanco Hunter Raney Israel Raymond Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Reynolds J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Rodriguez Johnson of Harris Buckley Romero, Jr. Bucy Kacal Rose Burns King of Hemphill Rosenthal King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Sanford Button Schaefer Klick Cain Shaheen Calanni Krause Sheffield Canales Kuempel Sherman, Sr. Capriglione Lambert Shine Clardy Smith Landgraf Cole Smithee Lang Coleman Larson Springer Collier Leach Stephenson Cortez Leman Stickland Craddick Longoria Stucky Lopez Swanson Cyrier Darby Talarico Lozano Thierry Davis of Dallas Lucio III Davis of Harris Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris Dean Deshotel Metcalf Tinderholt Dominguez Meyer Toth Dutton Meza Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant Farrar Middleton Miller VanDeaver Fierro Flynn Minjarez Vo Walle Frank Moody Frullo Morales White Geren Morrison Wilson Wray Gervin-Hawkins Muñoz, Jr. Goldman Murphy Wu González of Dallas Zedler Murr González of El Paso Neave Zerwas

Zwiener

Nevárez

Goodwin

	H.R. No. 1648
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1648 was	unanimously adopted by a rising
rote of the House on May 21, 2019.	
	Chief Clerk of the House