H.R. No. 1653

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The academic decathlon team from Dulles High School
in Sugar Land enjoyed great success during the 2019 United States
Academic Decathlon Nationals competition in Bloomington,
Minnesota, April 25-27; and

5 WHEREAS, The academic decathlon program provides high school 6 students with the opportunity to participate in rigorous 7 competition and demonstrate their abilities in team activities that 8 encompass disciplines such as math, science, language, art, music, 9 economics, social science, speech, essay, and interview; and

WHEREAS, The Dulles team excelled at the national meet, finishing as the third place Overall Team and second place Division I Team with 50,443.8 points; the Vikings also took home the silver in the Super Quiz category, and they received the title of Division I Rookie of the Year; and

WHEREAS, A number of Dulles students earned individual 15 16 accolades, including most valuable team member Ali Abi Nassif, who won second place Varsity in Interview and third place Varsity in 17 Math, and highest-scoring team member Simon Sanchez-Paiva, who won 18 third place Overall Scholastic, first place Scholastic in Music, 19 Social Science, Literature, and Art, second place Scholastic in 20 21 Economics and Science, and third place Scholastic in Math; many other members of the roster also earned awards, including: Lana 22 23 Haffar, second place Honors in Arts and Social Science; Logan House, second place Varsity in Math and third place Varsity in Music 24

1

H.R. No. 1653

1 and Art; Ethan Sollenberger, first place Scholastic in Math, second place Scholastic in Music, and third place Scholastic in Essay; 2 3 Davis Varghese, third place Overall Varsity, first place Varsity in Math and Music, and second place Varsity in Economics, 4 Social 5 Science, and Science; Robert Yang, first place Honors in Math and Literature and third place Honors in Social Science; Sophie Yangyi, 6 first place Honors in Arts, second place Honors in Economics and 7 Social Science, and third place Honors in Music and Literature; and 8 Olivia Jackson, third place Scholastic in Math, Literature, and 9 10 Literature in Art; and

11 WHEREAS, These outstanding young Texans have demonstrated 12 great skill, knowledge, and dedication, and with their fine showing 13 during the 2019 USAD national contest, they have brought tremendous 14 pride to their school and community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Dulles High School academic decathlon team on a successful showing at the 2019 USAD Nationals competition and extend to its members and coaches sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 22 House of Representatives.

Reynolds

2

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez

Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 1653

H.R. No. 1653

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1653 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House