By: Goldman

H.R. No. 1677

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Western Hills High School Winterguard earned 2 first place at the 2019 Regional AA North Texas Colorguard 3 Association Championships in The Colony on March 23; and

WHEREAS, Performing their original show, *Time to Say Goodbye*, the Western Hills Winterguard qualified for its appearance in the regional contest with a series of exemplary showings at local NTCA competitions in February and March 2019; during that time, the group received a number of awards, including a third-place finish at the South Grand Prairie contest on March 9; and

10 WHEREAS, The students then competed at the Regional AA NTCA 11 Championships at The Colony High School, where they earned a first-12 place award and were crowned Regional AA champions; the WHHS squad 13 also secured the highest marked score of the entire day for their 14 division; and

WHEREAS, Skillfully led by captains Andrea Botello and Anjelica Gonzales, the team received valuable contributions from each member of the roster: A'Lexis Brooks, Josh Chuca, Kaylee Hayes, Ja'Kedrick Jackson, Tay Johnson, Bird Luker, Yasmin Maldenado, Jennifer Martinez, Brenice Mattes, Jasmin Mejia, Sage Milhouse, Brisa Nava, Edgar Rios, Danielle Savage, Leondra Smith, Blaine Williams, and Stephanie Zapata; and

22 WHEREAS, The members of the Western Hills High School 23 Winterguard have demonstrated exceptional talent, hard work, and 24 dedication, and with their impressive showing in 2019, they have

1

H.R. No. 1677
1 brought tremendous honor to their school and pride to their many
2 supporters in the local community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Western Hills High School Winterguard on winning the 2019 Regional AA NTCA Championships and extend to all those associated with the team sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas 10 House of Representatives.

2