H.R. No. 1686

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Coach Betty Kennan of Alfonso Ramirez Elementary 2 School in Edinburg was honored with a 2018 National All Star Teacher 3 of the Year Award by Project Fit America at a ceremony on March 29, 4 2019; and

5 WHEREAS, Project Fit America is a national nonprofit that works with schools at the grassroots level to create sustainable 6 7 and innovative broad-based fitness programs for children; in the 8 selection process for National All Star Teacher, nominated physical 9 education instructors are evaluated on their lesson plans, teaching philosophies, and use of the PFA program in the classroom; although 10 11 the program has been launched at more than 1,000 schools in 300 12 cities and 46 states over the past 29 years, only 85 teachers have earned this impressive accolade; and 13

WHEREAS, Coach Kennan was among three P.E. teachers from across the country to receive the prestigious award for 2018; during her time with the Edinburg Consolidated Independent School District, she has served as a role model for her students as well as her peers; in addition to promoting healthy exercise and eating habits, she has helped her students develop good sportsmanship and teamwork; and

21 WHEREAS, Betty Kennan exemplifies the passion, 22 determination, and innovative spirit that are the hallmarks of our 23 best teachers, and she has set a standard of excellence to which all 24 in her profession may aspire; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1686

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Betty Kennan on receiving the 2018 3 National All Star Teacher of the Year Award from Project Fit America 4 and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success with her 5 important work; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Coach Kennan as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Canales

H.R. No. 1686

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1686 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House