H.R. No. 1690

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Pastor Alfred Stapleton of Shekinah Tabernacle
Baptist Church in Dallas is serving as Chaplain of the Day for the
Texas House of Representatives on May 22, 2019; and

WHEREAS, A native of Ennis, A. C. Stapleton graduated from 4 George W. Carver High School in 1965 and then served for two years 5 in the United States military; after returning to civilian life, he 6 furthered his education with studies at Criswell College, Bishop 7 College, and the Dallas Theological Seminary; he answered the call 8 9 to the ministry in 1977 and preached his first sermon in August of that year at Concord Missionary Baptist Church in Dallas under the 10 11 leadership of Dr. E. K. Bailey, who ordained him as a minister in 12 July 1979; and

13 WHEREAS, Pastor Stapleton went on to preach at West Union 14 Baptist Church in Palestine, Eighth Street Baptist Church in Temple, and Shekinah Tabernacle Baptist Church, where he has 15 16 presided over the congregation for the past 25 years; in addition to increasing church membership, he has overseen an outreach program 17 called the Lazarus Ministry that has provided food for 38,000 18 people, delivered clothing to homeless shelters, and assisted 19 20 residents with housing and other needs; he is supported in all his 21 endeavors by his loving wife, Sister Luvernia Stapleton, with whom he has raised three children; and 22

23 WHEREAS, Well-respected among his peers, Pastor Stapleton 24 serves as president of the Dallas Baptist Ministers Conference, and

1

H.R. No. 1690

1 he has served as first vice moderator of the Galilee Griggs Memorial 2 District Association of Baptist Churches; a member of the Home 3 Mission Board General Commission, he has further distinguished 4 himself through his work with the Evangelist Board of the General 5 Commission, the Dallas Baptist Association, the Southern Bible 6 Conference, and the National Baptist Convention; and

7 WHEREAS, This esteemed clergyman exemplifies the highest 8 standards of his vocation, and it is indeed a pleasure to welcome 9 him to this chamber; now, therefore, be it

10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 11 Legislature hereby honor Pastor A. C. Stapleton for his service as 12 Chaplain of the Day and extend to him sincere best wishes for the 13 future; and, be it further

14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 15 prepared for Pastor Stapleton as an expression of high regard by the 16 Texas House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

2

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez

Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 1690

H.R. No. 1690

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1690 was adopted by the House on May 22, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House