H.R. No. 1707

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Henry L. Whitman Jr. of Floresville has provided 2 outstanding leadership to the Texas Department of Family and 3 Protective Services in his role as commissioner; and

WHEREAS, Appointed in 2016, Hank Whitman has overseen the diverse and complex operations of the department, including child protective services as well as in-home adult protective services, foster care, and child abuse prevention and early intervention; he has further benefited youth as a mentor in the Big Brothers Big Sisters program, and he serves as chair of the Texas Ranger Hall of Fame and Museum; and

11 WHEREAS, Mr. Whitman previously served his fellow citizens 12 for 22 years with the Texas Department of Public Safety; he joined the agency as a state trooper in 1990 and rose to become a criminal 13 14 intelligence investigator before joining the Texas Rangers; named chief of the Texas Rangers in 2011, he created and supervised the 15 elite Texas Ranger Reconnaissance Team and led border security 16 operations, among other achievements; following his retirement in 17 2012, he provided security consulting and private investigation 18 services as president of Whitman Consulting; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Born in Hebronville, Mr. Whitman grew up in Corpus 21 Christi and served in the U.S. Marine Corps for four years; he began 22 his career in law enforcement with the Corpus Christi Police 23 Department; after completing his bachelor's degree at Southwest 24 Texas State University, he went on to receive a master of public

1

H.R. No. 1707

1 administration degree in criminal justice from Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi; he is also a graduate of the 2 Northwestern University Center for Police Staff and Command and the 3 4 FBI's National Academy; and

5 WHEREAS, Through his skill, professionalism, and commitment 6 to excellence, Hank Whitman has contributed greatly to DFPS, and he 7 has earned the admiration and appreciation of his colleagues and 8 fellow citizens alike; now, therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 10 Legislature hereby honor Henry L. Whitman Jr. for his exemplary 11 service as commissioner of the Texas Department of Family and 12 Protective Services and extend to him sincere best wishes for the 13 future; and, be it further

14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 15 prepared for Mr. Whitman as an expression of high regard by the 16 Texas House of Representatives.

Raymond

2

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez

Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 1707

H.R. No. 1707

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1707 was adopted by the House on May 21, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House