H.R. No. 1709

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The boys' track team from Thurgood Marshall High
- 2 School in the Fort Bend Independent School District continued its
- 3 tradition of excellence by claiming the 5A championship at the 2019
- 4 University Interscholastic League Track & Field State Meet; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Joining the other top Texas high school athletes at
- 6 Mike A. Myers Stadium in Austin on May 10 and 11, the Buffs were
- 7 paced by their relay squads; Bryson Stubblefield, Korey King, Devon
- 8 Achane, and Dalevon Campbell captured the gold medal in the
- 9 4x100-meter event with a time of 40.24 seconds, and the same
- 10 foursome went on to take the crown in the 4x200-meter contest with a
- 11 5A record-shattering time of 1 minute, 23.38 seconds; and
- WHEREAS, In the 4x400-meter race, Mr. King and Mr. Campbell
- 13 joined Matthias Petterway and Kacey Barnett in securing first place
- 14 with a time of 3 minutes, 14.22 seconds; the Buffs added to their
- 15 point total when Mr. Achane won gold by running the 200-meter dash
- 16 in 20.69 seconds; and
- WHEREAS, In winning four state championships in the past five
- 18 years, the Fort Bend Marshall boys' track team has distinguished
- 19 itself as a true powerhouse in the sport, and the members of the
- 20 2019 squad may take justifiable pride in their outstanding
- 21 accomplishments; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby congratulate the boys' track team from Thurgood
- 24 Marshall High School in Fort Bend ISD on winning the 5A championship

H.R. No. 1709

- 1 at the 2019 UIL Track & Field State Meet and extend to its athletes,
- 2 coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and,
- 3 be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the Buffs as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Reynolds

H.R. No. 1709

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1709 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House