H.R. No. 1729

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Texans and people around the globe were deeply 2 saddened by the campus shooting that took place at Santa Fe High 3 School on May 18, 2018, which resulted in the loss of 10 innocent 4 lives; and

5 WHEREAS, The victims included eight students, Jared Conard 6 Black, Shana Fisher, Christian Riley Garcia, Aaron Kyle McLeod, 7 Angelique Ramirez, Sabika Sheikh, Christopher Stone, and Kimberly 8 Vaughan, who ranged in age from 14 to 18; also killed were two 9 substitute teachers, Glenda Ann Perkins and Cynthia Tisdale, and 13 10 other individuals were wounded in the attack; and

11 WHEREAS, First responders and school resource officers 12 demonstrated outstanding bravery in helping evacuate the building 13 and in confronting, containing, and ultimately apprehending the 14 gunman; and

WHEREAS, The incident has deeply impacted the town of Santa Fe; present on that fateful day were 1,435 students and 85 teachers, and they, along with the bereaved families of the victims, have experienced immense heartbreak; though the journey to healing has proven difficult, the community has shown its resilience and compassion during this time of need, as neighbors have come together to support and comfort those most affected; and

22 WHEREAS, In pausing to reflect on this solemn anniversary, we 23 remember those whose lives were lost, and our hearts go out to the 24 many whose lives were forever altered; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1729

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 2 Legislature hereby extend condolences to the people of Santa Fe on 3 the occasion of the one-year anniversary of the Santa Fe High School 4 shooting and commend the efforts of those who have promoted unity 5 and healing in the aftermath of this tragedy.

Bonnen of Galveston

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez

Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 1729

H.R. No. 1729

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1729 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 17, 2019.

Chief Clerk of the House