H.R. No. 1740

By: Anderson

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Theater arts students from Crawford High School
distinguished themselves at the University Interscholastic League
One-Act Play 2A area meet on April 4, 2019; and

WHEREAS, The students performed *The Shape of the Grave* by Laura Lundgren Smith; set in the 1970s in Bogside, Northern Ireland, the play follows 16-year-old Colleen as she joins the fight for Irish independence against Britain; and

8 WHEREAS, Skillfully directed by Chris Wilkins and Christy 9 Walker, the show was brought to life by its sparkling cast, which 10 included Ty Hilliard, Kaleb Donald, Madison Donald, Johnnye Parker, 11 Luke Westerfield, Kristin Bernhardt, Molly Augeri, Jazmine 12 Salazar, Malorie Kevil, Justice Stanford, and Peyton Bubert, as 13 well as a skilled crew consisting of Kenzie Johansen, Tristan 14 Johansen, Carolyn Reynolds, and Jennah Woosley; and

15 WHEREAS, Three Crawford students earned individual honors at 16 the area level: Johnnye Parker and Carolyn Reynolds were named to 17 the All-Star Cast and the All-Star Crew, respectively, and Kristin 18 Bernhardt received an Honorable Mention All-Star Cast award; and

WHEREAS, With their efforts in the One-Act Play contest, these fine young Texans have proudly represented Crawford High School, and the dedication and talent they have demonstrated is sure to serve them well in the years ahead; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
Legislature hereby recognize theater arts students from Crawford

1

H.R. No. 1740 1 High School for their participation in the UIL One-Act Play 2A area 2 meet and extend to them sincere best wishes for the future; and, be 3 it further

4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 5 prepared for the school's theater department as an expression of 6 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.