H.R. No. 1751

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Mauricio Rodriguez has been named valedictorian of 2 the Class of 2019 at Saint Joseph Academy in Brownsville, and he 3 indeed merits special recognition for receiving this significant 4 honor; and

5 WHEREAS, Earning the title of valedictorian requires not only 6 intellect and aptitude but also four years of dedication to the 7 highest academic standards; in securing his place as the 8 top-ranking student in his class, Mr. Rodriguez demonstrated a 9 thorough understanding of a wide range of subjects, and his 10 attainment of this coveted distinction is the crowning achievement 11 of a notable high school career; and

WHEREAS, The son of Melissa Martinez and Agustin Rodriguez, Mr. Rodriguez has further distinguished himself through his leadership roles with a number of student organizations, including the National Society of High School Scholars, the Spanish Honor Society, and the Chemistry Club; selected as a Texas Boys State delegate, he is also a talented athlete who participated in track and field, cross-country, and basketball; and

WHEREAS, During his years at Saint Joseph Academy, Mauricio Rodriguez has earned the respect and admiration of both his teachers and classmates, and his exceptional scholastic ability and commitment to excellence have opened the way to a bright and promising future for this outstanding young Texan; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1751

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Mauricio Rodriguez on graduating 3 as valedictorian of the Saint Joseph Academy Class of 2019 and 4 extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success as he begins 5 the next exciting chapter of his life; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Rodriguez as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Dominguez

H.R. No. 1751

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1751 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House