H.R. No. 1770

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A rich and purposeful life drew to a close with the 2 passing of Rowena Calfee of Austin on May 14, 2019, at the age of 96; 3 and

WHEREAS, Born in Waco on March 22, 1923, to Annie Pearl Mosely Long and Franklin Roy Long, Mrs. Calfee was raised primarily by her mother and her stepfather, Van Oliver Nabors; she attended West Junior High School and Waco High School, and she continued her education at Baylor University; and

9 WHEREAS, Mrs. Calfee was joined in matrimony to Richard 10 Wisdom Calfee on April 19, 1941, and the couple became the parents 11 of five children, Richard, Suzanne, Gary, Sue, and Bill; over the 12 years, Mrs. Calfee had the pleasure of seeing her family grow to 13 include four grandchildren, Carolyn, Rachel, Adrienne, and Taylor, 14 as well as three great-grandchildren, Benjamin, Julia, and Van; and

15 WHEREAS, Those who were privileged to share in this treasured 16 woman's love and friendship will always remember her with great 17 tenderness and affection; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 19 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Rowena Calfee and 20 extend sincere condolences to the members of her family: to her 21 children, Richard Van Calfee, Gary Wayne Calfee, Sue Ellen Calfee, 22 and William Benjamin Calfee III; to her grandchildren, Carolyn 23 Suzanne Calfee, Rachel Anne Hochman, Adrienne Michelle Hochman, and 24 Taylor Brooke Calfee; to her great-grandchildren, Benjamin Andre

1

H.R. No. 1770

Calfee Choucroun, Julia Rose Calfee Choucroun, and Van Hochman; to
her daughters-in-law, Jeanie Calfee, Laura Pickett Calfee, and
Tommie Calfee; to her son-in-law, Roger Hochman; and to her other
relatives and friends; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of 7 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Rowena 8 Calfee.

Dutton

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez

Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

## H.R. No. 1770

H.R. No. 1770

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1770 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 21, 2019.

Chief Clerk of the House