H.R. No. 1771

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Katy Independent School District was named the
Advanced Placement Large District of the Year by The College Board
on April 25, 2019; and

WHEREAS, One of 373 districts from across the United States 4 considered for the award, Katy ISD was selected as the AP Large 5 District of the Year in recognition of its efforts to expand its AP 6 7 program; over the last three years, Katy ISD has increased student participation in the AP exams by 18 percent annually, resulting in 8 9 approximately 1,500 more students being involved in the program this year than in 2016; furthermore, the district has improved exam 10 performance, with over 77 percent of its 12,000 AP tests receiving a 11 12 score of a three or higher; and

WHEREAS, Under the able leadership of superintendent Ken Gregorski and school board president Courtney Doyle, Katy ISD serves more than 80,000 students at 69 campuses; the district has received an A rating from the Texas Education Agency and an A+ from Niche.com, and it was recently named to The College Board's AP Honor Roll for the seventh time; and

WHEREAS, A quality education is critical to the continued vitality of our state, and the faculty, staff, and administrators of Katy ISD are indeed deserving of recognition for their efforts to foster a supportive and challenging academic environment; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas

1

H.R. No. 1771

1 Legislature hereby congratulate the Katy Independent School 2 District on its selection as the 2019 Advanced Placement Large 3 District of the Year by The College Board and extend to all those 4 associated with the district sincere best wishes for continued 5 success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Katy ISD as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Bohac

H.R. No. 1771

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1771 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House