H.R. No. 1810

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Miriam Laeky has ably served her fellow Texans as an
aide in the office of State Representative Chris Turner during the
86th Legislative Session; and

WHEREAS, Since joining the staff, Ms. Laeky has provided vital assistance in handling a wide variety of challenging tasks; in addition to gaining valuable experience in the field of public service, she has learned more about the legislative process and the issues facing citizens of the Lone Star State; a Bob Bullock Scholar, she has also served as the assistant to the communications director; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Laeky is majoring in political science and 11 12 Spanish in the Interdisciplinary Core Honors College at Baylor University; she is a student board member and Campus Living and 13 14 Learning leader, as well as president of the Ethiopian & Eritrean Student Association; in addition, she serves the Baylor Chapter of 15 the NAACP as a member of its Economics and Employment Empowerment 16 Committee; in 2018, she was a student fellow and translation team 17 18 member for Beto O'Rourke's senate campaign; she previously interned with the 54th District Court in Waco and with the Center for 19 American & International Law in Plano; and 20

21 WHEREAS, This outstanding young Texan has performed her 22 duties as a legislative aide with skill and dedication, and she is 23 indeed deserving of special recognition for her fine work; now, 24 therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1810

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 2 Legislature hereby commend Miriam Laeky for her service as a 3 legislative aide in the office of State Representative Chris Turner 4 and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success in all 5 her endeavors; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Ms. Laeky as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Turner of Tarrant

H.R. No. 1810

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1810 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House