H.R. No. 1846

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, For the 15th consecutive year, the Katy Independent
- 2 School District has been designated one of the "Best Communities
- 3 for Music Education" by the National Association of Music Merchants
- 4 Foundation; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The designation is awarded to schools and school
- 6 districts that demonstrate an outstanding commitment to supporting
- 7 music education as part of their core curriculum; in 2019, the NAMM
- 8 Foundation recognized 623 school districts and 98 individual
- 9 schools across the country; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Katy ISD is fortunate to benefit from a staff of
- 11 exceptional fine arts educators; under the leadership of Mike
- 12 Ouellette, executive director of fine arts, the district is
- 13 dedicated to providing music access and education to its students;
- 14 the Best Communities designation is based on a number of factors,
- 15 including support and funding for music education, graduation
- 16 requirements, music class participation, facilities, and
- 17 instruction time; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Katy ISD has endeavored to create a learning
- 19 environment that nurtures the musical talent and creativity of its
- 20 students, and its consistent pursuit of excellence has deservedly
- 21 earned it recognition as a national model for music programs; now,
- 22 therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate the Katy Independent School

H.R. No. 1846

- 1 District on being designated one of the "Best Communities for Music
- 2 Education" by the National Association of Music Merchants
- 3 Foundation in 2019 and extend to its music educators sincere best
- 4 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Katy ISD as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Bohac

H.R. No. 1846

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1846 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House