H.R. No. 1885

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Kathryn Wemer has been presented with a 2017-2018
Daniel E. Kilgore Local History Award by the Nueces County
Historical Society; and

WHEREAS, Established in 2004, this accolade is annually bestowed on individuals who have rendered distinguished service in advancing the NCHS mission to promote and preserve the history of Nueces County and the Coastal Bend; the award is named in memory of Daniel Kilgore, an influential lay historian, collector, and author who passed away in 1995; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Wemer retired from 10 the Corpus Christi 11 Independent School District after a career of more than 36 years as 12 an American and Texas history teacher, and she continues to work as a substitute teacher; beyond the classroom, she serves as a docent 13 14 at the Centennial House, speaks about various history topics for organizations, and researches and 15 local coordinates the dedications of Texas Historical Commission markers in Corpus 16 Christi and around Nueces County; she is currently the vice 17 president of the Nueces County Historical Society, a role that 18 involves overseeing the group's monthly programs; and 19

20 WHEREAS, This notable Texan has demonstrated a profound 21 commitment to the stewardship of local history, and her 22 contributions will help current and future generations of Coastal 23 Bend residents more fully understand and appreciate their rich 24 heritage; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1885

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Kathryn Wemer on her receipt of a 3 2017-2018 Daniel E. Kilgore Local History Award from the Nueces 4 County Historical Society and extend to her sincere best wishes for 5 the future; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Ms. Wemer as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 1885

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1885 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House