H.R. No. 1886

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Jeff Felts has been presented with a 2017-2018
Daniel E. Kilgore Local History Award by the Nueces County
Historical Society; and

WHEREAS, Established in 2004, this accolade is annually bestowed on individuals who have rendered distinguished service in advancing the NCHS mission to promote and preserve the history of Nueces County and the Coastal Bend; the award is named in memory of Daniel Kilgore, an influential lay historian, collector, and author who passed away in 1995; and

WHEREAS, Jeff Felts is the director of television production 10 11 for KEDT-TV, and he has worked for the station since 1987; he has 12 combined his deep knowledge of South Texas and more than 30 years of experience in public television to create many historical and 13 14 social documentaries, as well as award-winning public affairs and instructional programming; his documentary about the 1914 Nueces 15 County Courthouse received an award of excellence from the Texas 16 Historical Commission, and many of his other works have been 17 recognized with prizes; in all his endeavors, he enjoys the love and 18 support of his wife, Suzie, and his children, Paul and Nathan; and 19

20 WHEREAS, This notable Texan has demonstrated a profound 21 commitment to the stewardship of local history, and his 22 contributions will help current and future generations of Coastal 23 Bend residents more fully understand and appreciate their rich 24 heritage; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1886

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Jeff Felts on his receipt of a 3 2017-2018 Daniel E. Kilgore Local History Award from the Nueces 4 County Historical Society and extend to him sincere best wishes for 5 the future; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Felts as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 1886

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1886 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House