By: King of Hemphill

H.R. No. 1909

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Students from Happy High School distinguished
themselves through their participation in the 2019 University
Interscholastic League Track & Field State Meet; and

WHEREAS, Joining the other top high school competitors in 4 5 Texas at Mike A. Myers Stadium in Austin on May 10 and 11, the Happy High contingent included Justin Bressler, Jackson Davis, Kenli 6 7 Johnson, Emily Berry, Rylee Johnson, Abigail Drake, Bailee Baggerman, Karla Mayes, and Daisy Berry; the girls' relay teams 8 9 enjoyed tremendous success, with Kenli Johnson, Emily Berry, Rylee Johnson, and Ms. Drake taking gold in the 1A 4x100-meter event, 10 11 Ms. Baggerman, Emily Berry, Kenli Johnson, and Rylee Johnson finishing first in the 4x400-meter relay, and Ms. Baggerman, 12 Ms. Mayes, Daisy Berry, and Ms. Drake earning sixth place in the 13 14 4x200-meter relay; the individual winners included Mr. Davis, who placed first in the boys' high jump and the 400-meter dash and also 15 16 finished sixth in the 200-meter dash and seventh in the triple jump; additionally, Rylee Johnson took the crown in the girls' 400-meter 17 dash, Mr. Bressler won a silver medal in the boys' pole vault, Kenli 18 Johnson came in third in the girls' 800-meter run, and Emily Berry 19 finished sixth in the girls' 200-meter dash; and 20

21 WHEREAS, By earning the right to compete in the state's 22 premier showcase for high school track & field athletes, these 23 determined young Texans have ably represented their school and 24 community, and they may indeed reflect with pride on their notable

1

H.R. No. 1909

1 accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the students from Happy High School who participated in the 2019 UIL Track & Field State Meet and extend to them sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the students as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.