H.R. No. 1999

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The baseball team from Northland Christian School in
Houston closed out an unforgettable year by winning the 2019 Texas
Association of Private and Parochial Schools Division III state
championship on May 16 at The Ballparks In Crosby; and

5 WHEREAS, After securing the district title with their superb 6 play in the regular season, the Cougars continued to excel in the 7 playoffs; they opened with a 13-3 area-round decision over Geneva 8 School of Boerne and then shut out Bay Area Christian School of 9 League City by a score of 2-0 in the regional finale; and

WHEREAS, Northland Christian posted a decisive 11-4 victory over First Baptist Christian Academy of Pasadena in the state semifinals to advance to the championship game; taking the field against Trinity Christian Academy of Willow Park, the Cougars emerged triumphant by the score of 3-2 to secure the state crown; and

16 WHEREAS, Under the able guidance of head coach Rick Nixon and 17 assistant coaches Tyler Bremer and Brian Fisher, the Cougars 18 excelled with a true team effort, receiving valuable contributions 19 throughout the 2019 campaign from each member of the roster; and

20 WHEREAS, Winning a state championship represents the 21 culmination of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering 22 commitment to excellence, and these talented student-athletes will 23 treasure the memory of this accomplishment for the rest of their 24 lives; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1999

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate the Northland Christian School 3 baseball team on winning the 2019 TAPPS Division III state 4 championship and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff 5 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Harless

H.R. No. 1999

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1999 was adopted by the House on May 27, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House