By: Anderson

H.R. No. 2001

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Texans and visitors from across the nation benefit 2 greatly from the dedicated efforts of the employees of the State 3 Preservation Board; and

WHEREAS, This vital state agency is responsible for the 4 5 preservation and maintenance of the historic buildings in the Capitol Complex, and it approves all construction, repair, and 6 7 renovation work; it also operates the Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum, the Texas State Cemetery, the Capitol Visitors 8 Center and gift shops, and the Capitol Visitors Parking Garage; 9 moreover, the agency provides educational and curatorial services, 10 offers guided tours to the public, and schedules and manages public 11 12 events; and

13 WHEREAS, Executive director Rod Welsh oversees the State 14 Preservation Board with the able assistance of the executive staff, David L. Byers, Bob Cash, Erin Christensen, Linda L. Gaby, Dale 15 G. Hernandez, Alice B. James, Leslie Pawelka, Cindy Provine, and 16 Ann M. Vay, as well as the skilled members of the finance 17 department, Lindsey A. Alvarado, Barbara Hanus, Angela Knoll, 18 Yvette Rendon, Deanna L. Wall, and Vashyra Waller; the agency's 19 work further benefits from the support of its administrative 20 personnel, Virginia Benavidez, Robert M. Davis, Dana Dennett, Jane 21 A. Falkenberg, Patricia G. Hernandez-Ruiz, Valerie Simpson, and 22 23 Dale Sumers, as well as IT staff members Andre Bygrave and Rosemary Rodriguez; and 24

1 WHEREAS, The curatorial staff consists of Richard T. Eisenhour, Paige A. Hester, and Michelle Lambing; educational 2 3 tours of the Capitol are offered by Joyce Aldridge, William Anderson, Cody Barnes, Leslie Covington, Marilena Crouchet, 4 Jeffrey Crunk, Priscilla Flowers, Analise Garcia, Carmen Garcia, 5 Carolyn Hoehle, Nancy Korzilius, Margie Paz, Laura Peckham, 6 Jeniffer Perales-Garcia, Marsha Rainey, Galen Randall, Karen Rohe, 7 8 Amanda Strittmatter, Maria Suarez, Comfort K. Tysen, Rachel Vogt, Katheryn Wells, Derrick Wright, Jayme Zigler, and Georgia Zunker; 9 10 and

H.R. No. 2001

11 WHEREAS, Members of the public are welcomed every day to the 12 Capitol Visitors Center by staffers Charles Angel, Moin Ullah Baig, Eric A. Boedy, Polly Chandler, Elizabeth Garzone, Stephanie 13 14 Mueller, Elizabeth K. Reid, Idali Reyes, Kandace D. Russell, Amy 15 Russell, Cortney Smith, Christopher Wagner, Kyle Walker, Jenna Archuletta, and Leigh Gershman; the retail staff is overseen by 16 17 Sheryl D. Baker, Misha Karen Buckman, Michael J. Dillon, and Carolyn Rzeppa, and its members include Cynthia Cervenka, Arcilia 18 19 Gonzalez, Nancy Hennessy, and Angelia Rios Hennigan at the Capitol Visitors Center gift shop, Patricia-Ann Bass, Susie Brewer, So Yean 20 Chung, Tom Farley, Tracy Lee King, and Paula Dianne Talley at the 21 Capitol Extension gift shop, and Cady Bates, Michael Coronado, 22 Elizabeth A. Deutchman, and Karen N. Griffin at the retail 23 24 warehouse; and

25 WHEREAS, The outstanding employees who are responsible for 26 the care and maintenance of the landmark buildings and monuments 27 are Steven E. Aguirre, Nathan Harris, Kevin M. Koch, Joe Medina,

1 Christopher L. Nunn, Rachel S. Ramirez, Araceli Ripper, and Douglas R. Young of facilities management, Tommy Bailey, Roberto Carlos 2 3 Benavides, Julie Boehm, Peter Castilleja, David Flanegan, Bill Kleinebecker, Thomas Levitt, Chinh C. Nguyen, David Pham, Terry 4 L. Pyle, Scott Schmidt, James Skinner, Eric Tamayo, Vincent Tamayo, 5 Gregory V. Taylor, Phillip Torres, and Alex Villalobos of the 6 maintenance crew, Olibama Barron, Oralia Bautista De Martinez, 7 8 Laura G. Cuellar, Crisostoma Espino-Recendiz, Citlali Gomez-Hernandez, Eliceo Hernandez, Marlen Hernandez, Aida Robles, 9 10 Maria Rodriguez, Rosalinda Sanchez, Flora Torres, Lloyd White, and Shatora Williams of the housekeeping team, and Antonio Delgado, 11 12 Brent Dickerson, and Hector N. Medrano of the groundskeeping staff; 13 overseeing the operation of the Capitol Visitors Parking Garage are 14 Irene G. Arispe, Christopher B. Currens, Gladys Howard, Luke 15 McNicholas, Amanda Remillard, John Patrick Wessels, and Tony 16 Hubbard; and

H.R. No. 2001

17 WHEREAS, In addition to the commendable work of its Capitol Complex employees, the State Preservation Board further serves the 18 19 public through its staff at the Bob Bullock Texas State History 20 Museum; led by director Margaret Koch, the museum's administrative team consists of Kate Betz, Javier Cavazos, Elizabeth Esparza, 21 Derek E. Lemons, and Kevin Paris, and those employees handling 22 23 communications, creative services, external affairs, marketing, 24 and membership are Emily Morris, James Barela, Gilbert Medina, Hunt Wellborn, Erin Shanahan, Nicole Shaffer, Leslie Adkins, and Chloe 25 26 Jones, with Lily Alpern, Andrew Malesky, and William Epperson coordinating events, and Neal Johnson, David Munns, and Evan 27

H.R. No. 2001

1 Windham working in web and digital media; the museum's education department consists of Shelby L. Barrera, Robin Davis, Angela 2 3 Kennedy, Kaitlin Lloyd, Rachel Manning, James McReynolds, Janene Pearson, Gaila Sims, and Jessica Smarr, and its exhibits staff is 4 made up of Ashley Alvarado, Toni Beldock, Ed Bopp, Franck Cordes, 5 Angela Glasker, Sean Harrison, Mike Juen, Hannah Kemp, John 6 L. Peel, Stefan M. Ruff, Kathryn A. Siefker, and Thomas J. Wancho; 7 8 and

9 WHEREAS, Visitor service representatives and coordinators 10 for the Bullock Museum include Kyle Albrecht, Joseph Almand, Raegan Bass, Denise Bell, Nicholas J. Byers, Greg Caparis, Morgan 11 12 Catching, Annalin Davis, Monet Flores, Melinda Franks, Theodora Georgescu, Catherine Howk, Kaitlin 13 Kuan, Kellyn Lappinga, 14 Jacqueline Martinez, Rosa Pedraza, Hamaila Qureshi, Gloria Maria 15 Ramirez, Patrick Sanderson, Kristi Senterfitt, Craig Simpson, Michael Strittmatter, Lauren Troccoli, Dorothy Walker, and 16 17 Scotland Washington, and the facility's famed IMAX theater is operated by Shae Stanford, Darla R. Anderson, Mathew Flowers, James 18 19 Jennings, and David Ripper; members of the museum's retail team include Heidi P. Afkami, Michael Byers, Laura C. Kelly, and Tayebeh 20 Masomian, and its maintenance and housekeeping crew consists of 21 Eric Avery, Isaac L. Edwards, Freddie E. Flores, William 22 23 Rittenhouse, Moon Kim, Veronica Orduna, and Edith Broten; and

24 WHEREAS, In addition to the Capitol Complex and the Bullock 25 State History Museum, the SPB oversees the operation of the Texas 26 State Cemetery, which benefits from the support of staffers William 27 Erwin, Carlos Galvan, Jose Cruz Hernandez Puente, Nathan Stephens,

H.R. No. 2001

1 and Daniel Sutherland; and

2 WHEREAS, Through their dedicated stewardship of a rich 3 legacy, the administrators and employees of the State Preservation 4 Board are rendering a vital service to the people of Texas and 5 introducing countless visitors to the remarkable story of the Lone 6 Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
Legislature hereby commend the staff of the State Preservation
Board for their exemplary service; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for the State Preservation Board as an expression of high 12 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.