H.R. No. 2006

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The management and staff of Univision are gathering
in Austin on May 23, 2019, in celebration of Univision Day at the
State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Univision has built an impressive record of success as a multimedia company primarily serving Hispanic Americans, and it has also distinguished itself through its exceptional community service endeavors; and

WHEREAS, Committed to making a positive difference in the 8 9 communities it serves, the company's Univision Contigo platform has worked to empower Hispanic Americans in such areas as health, 10 11 education, and civic involvement; the initiative focuses on 12 building strong minds, promoting healthy habits, and celebrating diversity through three pillars: Be Seen, Be Heard, Be Counted; 13 14 launched in 2013, the social responsibility platform has been recognized by the Save the Children Foundation and has earned a 15 16 Cynopsis Social Good Award, two Beacon Awards from the Association of Cable Communicators, the Cesar E. Chavez Community Service Award 17 from the United States Hispanic Leadership Institute, and the 18 Corporation of the Year Award from LULAC, among many other 19 20 accolades; and

21 WHEREAS, Univision provides diverse cultural representation 22 and a powerful voice for the fastest-growing demographic in the 23 nation, and its outreach efforts are encouraging countless people 24 to become more deeply engaged in their communities; now, therefore,

1

H.R. No. 2006

1 be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 3 Legislature hereby recognize May 23, 2019, as Univision Day at the 4 State Capitol and extend to the management and staff of Univision 5 sincere best wishes for continued success.

Anchia

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez

Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.R. No. 2006

H.R. No. 2006

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2006 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House