## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Nicolás Miguel Ramón Gallego, the only son of Pete P. Gallego, a former state representative and U.S. congressman, and María Elena Ramón, the general counsel for the State Office of Court Administration, is graduating from eighth grade on May 23, 2019; and

6 WHEREAS, Born on October 7, 2004, Nicolás Miguel Ramón 7 Gallego regularly attended sessions of the Texas Legislature as a 8 young child; he played under his father's desk, Desk 82, wandered 9 around the house floor while meeting and chatting with individual 10 house members, explored the nooks and crannies of the house 11 chamber, and even participated inadvertently in debates on the 12 house floor; and

WHEREAS, There remain 50 current members of the Texas House of Representatives who remember the era when Nicolás was present on the house floor during each day of session; many of these members interacted with him frequently, including Representatives Rafael Anchia, Garnet F. Coleman, Jessica Farrar, Trey Martinez Fischer, Rafael Geren, Ana Hernandez, Armando "Mando" Martinez, and Senfronia Thompson; and

WHEREAS, Nicolás also developed many close relationships 20 21 with other now former members of the Texas House of Representatives, including Representatives Patricia Harless, Fred 22 23 Hill, Scott Hochberg, Terri Hodge, Edmund Kuempel, James E. "Pete" Laney, Tommy Merritt, Elliott Naishtat, Paula Pierson, and Tara 24

1

1 Rios Ybarra; and

2 WHEREAS, With his outgoing personality, easy smile, 3 inquisitive nature, and unpredictable antics, Nicolás regularly 4 reminded house members of the important things in life while 5 providing entertainment and promoting a more congenial and friendly 6 environment; he is believed to be the most photographed child in the 7 history of the Texas House of Representatives; and

8 WHEREAS, In the years since his father left the house, Nicolás has distinguished himself by excelling in academics, 9 10 athletics, and extracurricular activities; his many accomplishments include making the principal's list 11 every semester, earning membership in the National Junior Honor Society, 12 winning his school's chess championship, starting on the school's 13 14 basketball team, and serving as vice president of the student 15 council; and

16 WHEREAS, Exciting challenges and opportunities await this 17 outstanding young man, and it is a pleasure to join his family and 18 friends in recognizing him as he celebrates this important 19 milestone in his life; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 21 Legislature hereby congratulate Nicolás Miguel Ramón Gallego on the 22 occasion of his graduation from eighth grade and extend to him 23 sincere best wishes for continued success in all his future 24 endeavors; and, be it further

2

1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
2 prepared for Nicolás as an expression of high regard by the Texas
3 House of Representatives.

Farrar

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas J. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez

Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

## H.R. No. 2008

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2008 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House